Recipients Recognized With Passion For Teaching Agriculture In Nebraska

LINCOLN – A pair of northeast Nebraska teachers were recently awarded funds in support of agriculture education and FFA programs in the state.

According to a release from the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation, all 18 teachers have a passion for teaching agriculture in Nebraska. Officials with the NFB Foundation are proud to support the future of Nebraska agriculture. Their investment has a great return as the number of schools that offer agricultural education and FFA in Nebraska grows each year.

Area recipients include Amanda Hafer, Lutheran High Northeast and Kara Philips, Madison Public Schools.

Recipients are all agricultural education teachers in their first through fifth year of teaching. Teachers are eligible for increasing awards each year. As the teachers’ impact grows in the classroom, in their FFA chapters and in their communities each year, the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation aims to recognize and support their efforts.

The 18 recipients of the scholarships are Katie Arp, Bishop Neumann High School; Kensie Burnside, Neligh-Oakdale High School; Jacob Goldfuss, Sandy Creek Public Schools; Kate Grimes, Axtell Community Schools; Amanda Hafer, Lutheran High Northeast; Cale Harrington, Loup City Public Schools; Blair Hartman, Ansley Public Schools; Hannah Horak, Shelton High School; Katie Horning, Northwest Public Schools; Carrie Johns, Gering High School; Brian Johnson, Litchfield Public Schools; Katie Nolles, Boyd County High School; Kara Philips, Madison Public Schools; Savannah Schafer, McCook Public Schools; Nicole Sorenson, Minatare High School; Brooke Wehrbein, Auburn High School; Emily Whipple, Ainsworth Community Schools and Macie Wippel, Minden Public Schools.

The mission of the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation is to engage youth, educators and the general public to promote an understanding of the vital importance of agriculture in the lives of all Nebraskans. The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. For more information about the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation, visit