Sweetland To Be Named NCA Softball Coach Of The Year

WAYNE – After capping off an undefeated season and a Class C state softball championship, Wayne High head coach Rob Sweetland is listed among the top coaches of their respective sport.

The 2019 Nebraska Coaches Association (NCA) will host their annual awards banquet at the Lincoln Station Great Hall in Lincoln on Sunday, July 21.

Coach Sweetland led the Wayne High softball team to their second perfect season at 35-0 during the 2018-19 season while also going 34-0 in 2004. Coach Sweetland is listed as the NCA softball coach of the year.

The Wayne High softball team will look to defend their title and open their 2019 season on Thursday, August 22 visiting Blair and face Norfolk High during a jamboree game on Thursday, August 15.

Another northeast coach being represented will be Steve Wieseler of Wynot for girls basketball.

Other northeast Nebraska awards will include the Binnie and Dutch Award for track and field will go towards Gary Schuurmans of Norfolk; Ken Cook Award (girls basketball) will be given to Chuck Ross of Wisner-Pilger; Guy Mytty Award (wrestling) for Dean Boyer of Plainview; Skip Palrang Award (football) for Bob Fuller of Wausa and Tiffany Panning of Crofton will be awarded the Jim Farrand Award (junior high or assistant coach).

A social will be held at 4:30 p.m. with dinner scheduled for 5:30 p.m. Dinner tickets are $20 with an order form found at www.ncacoach.org/uploads/banquetticketorderform.pdf.

Gail Peterson of Crofton and Sharon Zavala of Grand Island Central Catholic will be inducted into the NHSACA Hall of Fame.

NCA service awards: Mark Anderson of Randolph (35 years); Joe Ortmeier of Osmond (35 years)

Level IV milestone awards: Michael Johnson of Hartington Cedar Catholic and Dean Boyer of Plainview

NCA scholarships: Jessica Borg of Wakefield