Winter NCPA Academic All-State Award Team; Northeast Nebraska Representatives Listed

WAYNE – More than 2,000 Nebraska high school students were tabbed with an Academic All-State Award following the 2021-22 winter season.

According to a release from the Nebraska School Activities Association (NSAA), the Nebraska Chiropractic Physicians Association (NCPA) has recognized students who have been nominated by their schools since 2006.

The NCPA Academic All-State Award individual must be a varsity player or organizational leader who has played a significant role on the team or in the organizational activity during the seasons for which nominations are accepted; they must have a minimum cumulative GPA in all curricular subjects of 93% or 3.7 on a 4.0-point scale or the equivalent and NSAA high schools or their cooperative sponsorship may nominate a maximum of two students per NSAA activity program.

The NCPA Academic All-State Award program has grown at a steady pace with 2,838 students in the 2006-07 school year to 6,813 last year. During the 2021-22 winter season, 2,166 more honorees garnered the award continuing the prestigious tradition in recognizing the efforts of high school students on and off the playing field.

Winter activities included girls and boys bowling, girls and boys wrestling, girls and boys swimming & diving, girls and boys basketball, speech as well as the Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

Wayne recipients were Brandon Bartos and Tanner Walling (boys basketball); Brooklyn Kruse and Kiara Krusemark (girls basketball); Jacob Anderson and James Dorcey (boys bowling); Jersi Jensen and Lindsay Niemann (girls bowling); Brooklyn Bierbower and Ethan Wibben (speech); Elijah Barner and Zachary McManigal (wrestling) as well as Jaycee Bruns (girls wrestling).

In all, approximately 89,000 students have earned a Nebraska Chiropractic Physicians Association Academic All-State award during the past 16 years.

Again, each year the NSAA and the NCPA recognize students during fall, winter and spring seasons who are nominated by their schools for their individual academic excellence, leadership and significant contributions in their NSAA activity. The spring deadline for nominations is May 1 for activities of music, journalism, girls and boys soccer, baseball, girls tennis, girls and boys track & field, unified sports track & field as well as boys golf.


Area recipients: Statewide list.

Allen: Michael Dickens and Joseph Grone (boys basketball); Jordyn Carr (girls basketball) as well as Olivia DeKok and Brayden McCorkindale (speech).

Emerson-Hubbard: Rhyanne Mackling (girls basketball).

Guardian Angels Central Catholic: Michael Cohee and Trey Smith (boys basketball); Isabel Hass and Sophia Hass (girls basketball); Erin Jensen and Greta Wooldrick (speech) as well as Ethan Baumert and James Rolf (wrestling).

Hartington Cedar Catholic: Carter Arens and Jaxson Bernecker (boys basketball); Makenna Noecker and Jordyn Steffen (girls basketball); Konner Albers and Colin Potts (boys bowling); Meredith McGregor (girls bowling); Grace Kleinschmit and Elizabeth Rokusek (speech) as well as Nash Albers and Braeden Kleinschmit (wrestling).

Hartington-Newcastle: Seth Pinkelman and Bennet Sievers (boys basketball); Olivia Grutsch and Alivia Morten (girls basketball); Rebekah Pinkelman (girls bowling) as well as Lane Heimes and Bennet Sievers (speech).

Laurel-Concord-Coleridge: Grant Erwin and Dillon Olson (boys basketball); Kinsey Hall and Jordyn Urwiler (girls basketball) as well as Maddy Graham and Delaney Hall (speech).

Lutheran High Northeast: Micah Baumgartel and Joshua Rojas (boys basketball); Kenda Petersen and Kealy Ranslem (girls basketball) as well as Madeline Bryant and Mayra Molina (speech).

Norfolk Catholic: Preston Burbach and Ben Hammond (boys basketball); Kalea Fisher and Avery Yosten (girls basketball); Alberto Cartela and Tiffany Peitz (speech); Trey Foeking (boys swimming); Yair Santiago and Benjamin Sousek (wrestling) as well as Jordan Aschoff and Haylee Serres (girls wrestling).

Norfolk High: Jack Borgmann and Tanner Eisenhauer (boys basketball); Amber Schwanebeck and Erin Schwanebeck (girls basketball); Tania Vitales Kadlec and Payton Weis (debate); Pareena Ponniah and Hailey Reitz (speech); Timothy Spray (boys swimming); Maggie Waddington (girls swimming); Jackson Bos and Kayden Kettler (wrestling) as well as Kayla Bobeldyke (girls wrestling).

Pender: Braden Prokop and Caleb Trimble (boys basketball); Caitlyn Heise and Reese Kneifl (girls basketball); Emily Luedert (girls bowling); Alexis Bodlak and Roxy Ekberg (speech) as well as Trey Johnson and Brody Krusemark (wrestling).

Pierce: Travis Emory and Abram Scholting (boys basketball); Jozy Piper and Gina Wragge (girls basketball); Larissa Meier and Brielle Unseld (speech); Nicholas Erickson and Dawson Raabe (wrestling) as well as Maggie Painter and Makinzie Parsons (girls wrestling).

Ponca: Cole Jackson and Evan Keller (boys basketball); Abbie Hrouda and Addie McGill (girls basketball); Grace Rooney and Lexi Swick (speech) as well as Aidan Cook (wrestling).

Randolph: Erin Engel and Ryanne Winkelbauer for both girls basketball and speech.

Wakefield: Ryan Anderson and Cade Johnson (boys basketball); Aishah Valenzuela (girls basketball) as well as Cataleena Lortz (speech).

West Point-Beemer: Jaylen Kile and Riley Penrose (boys basketball); Emily Toelle (girls basketball); Logan Consbruck and Ashlynn Cropp (speech); Sebastian Ramirez (wrestling) as well as Allie Boell and Nancy Lemus Garcia (girls wrestling).

Winside: Emily Jaeger and Reagan Strong (girls basketball) as well as Cooper Behmer and Tyler Carlson (wrestling).

Wisner-Pilger: Spencer Batenhorst and Beau Ruskamp (boys basketball); Adison Meyer and Kayla Svoboda (girls basketball); Gwen Donner and Bryant Peck (speech) as well as Braxton Siebrandt (wrestling).