Wildcat Wrestlers Place Third During GPC National Qualifier, Send Eight To Nationals

Wildcat Wrestlers Place Third During GPC National Qualifier, Send Eight To Nationals
Photo courtesy of Wayne State Wrestling, pictured left to right: Front - Justin Boone, Tommy Nelson, Austin Schuller, Spencer Trout; Middle row - Chris Gallegos, Joe Giesselmann, Alejandro Martinez, Levi Honeywell, Ethan Fitzler, Hunter Weiss, Coach Devon Rupp; Back row - Coach Patrick Donnelly, Matthew Reeves, Gerald Kenkel, Coach Greg Vander Weil.

WAYNE – Six wrestling teams joined Wayne State College featuring 50 wrestlers for the 2018 National Collegiate Wrestling Association (NCWA) Great Plains Conference National Qualifier over the weekend.

From the WSC Recreation Center, Colorado State University edged the Iowa State University wrestling club by 8.5 points to be crowned conference champions with 85.5 points. Iowa State then followed in second with their 80.5 points, Wayne State College wrestling club took third with 74.5 points and Winona State University Rounded out the top four teams (30).

Missouri University of Science and Technology took fifth with 24 points, then the University of Minnesota Duluth finished sixth with 2.5 points and no points were recorded by the University of Iowa wrestling club.

The Wildcats were led by sophomore Gerald Kenkel (174) recording one of the two first place finishes with three pins. He was also awarded the Outstanding Wrestler of the Tournament.

Freshman Alejandro Martinez (125) was the other Conference Champion while Levi Honeywell (141), Hunter Weiss (149) and Ethan Fitzler (157) all finished runner-up.

Other qualifiers came from Matthew Reeves (141) and Joe Giesselmann (285) both placing third. Spencer Trout is also going to Nationals by way of wild card after placing fourth (184).

The two other Wildcat wrestlers were Justin Boone (149) who took fifth while Austin Schuller (184) did not place.

The NCWA National Tournament will take place in Allen, Texas from Thursday, March 8 – Saturday, March 10.