Wildcat Softball Team, 13 Individuals Recognized With NFCA/Easton All-Academic Honors

Wildcat Softball Team, 13 Individuals Recognized With NFCA/Easton All-Academic Honors
Courtesy of Wayne State Athletics

WAYNE – The Wayne State College softball team along with several players received an Easton/NFCA Academic Team award.

The announcement came on Wednesday, October 3 from the National Fastpitch Coaches Association office in Louisville, Kentucky, 13 Wildcat players were honored. Each athlete was recognized with an Easton/NFCA All-America Scholar Athlete honor for posting an individual grade point average of 3.50 or better.

As a team, Wayne State ranked 12th in NCAA Division II with a stellar 3.624 grade point average and was one of five teams from the Northern Sun Conference to receive the award.

The NSIC was represented well as Upper Iowa University was the second-best Division II school with a 3.717 grade point average following only Urbana University (3.840) out of 75 programs. MSU Moorhead (21st – 3.590), Minnesota State-Mankato (58th – 3.295) and Augustana University (68th – 3.228) rounded out the NSIC teams.

The Wayne State College softball team finished the 2018 season with records of 16-29 overall and 10-16 in the NSIC. WSC will open the 2019 season with an Eight-State Classic on February 15 before their first home contest will be on March 26 when Augustana comes to the Pete Chapman Softball Complex for a double header.

Individually, 13 Wildcat players received the Easton/NFCA All-America Scholar Athlete honor, including four players that posted perfect 4.00 grade point averages. The list includes:

Jordyn Breitbarth        Senior             3.740

Alyx Hagen                 Junior              3.740

Ashley Hernandez      Freshman        4.000

Abbie Hix                    Junior              3.700

Taylor Menard            Junior              3.940

Maddie Moser             Freshman        4.000

Allison Niemeier          Sophomore     3.540

Raquell Penke            Freshman        3.575

Baylee Rial                  Junior              3.540

Jenna Stewart             Sophomore     4.000

Riley Vanderveen       Junior              3.783

Morgan Vasa              Junior              3.540

Katelyn Wobken         Senior              4.000