Wildcat Punter From 2009 – 12 Receives All-Decade Recognition

Wildcat Punter From 2009 – 12 Receives All-Decade Recognition
Courtesy of Wayne State Athletics.

WAYNE – Another Wayne State alumnus that was recently in the news saw former All-American punter Randy Weich being named to the D2Football.com All-Decade Team.

According to a release from the Wayne State Athletics office, Weich earned Second Team honors and was selected among the 50-member 2010-2019 team by the staff of D2Football.com with input from Division II coaches from across the county.

To be eligible for the team, a student-athlete must have played during any season from 2010-19 and have been named a D2Football.com All-American in that time period.

Weich, a 6-2, 245-pound punter from Pierce HS, set nearly every punting record during his four years at Wayne State College from 2009-12. He was voted to six All-American teams as a senior in 2012, averaging 44.8 yards per punt to rank third in NCAA Division II, and closed his collegiate career by being selected to play in the All-American Bowl at the Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

As a junior in 2011, Weich recorded the second-best punt average in NCAA Division II (45.4 yards per punt), was a three-time All-NSIC First Team selection and during his sophomore season in 2010 averaged 43.4 yards per punt to rank sixth in NCAA Division II.

Weich closed his WSC career averaging 43.9 yards per punt on 189 kicks and holds the top three single season averages along with the two longest punts in Wayne State history – 95 yards vs. Augustana in 2010 and 85 yards in 2012 at the University of Sioux Falls. He also had 53 punts of 50 yards or more.

Following his career at Wayne State, Weich played professional football for one season in 2014 in the FXFL (Fall Experimental Football League) for the Omaha Mammoths.

The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) had the most selections with 10 followed closely by the MIAA who had nine. Ferris State and Northwest Missouri each had three selections (one coach for Northwest), which were the most by any program.

At the time of publication, 35 of the players on the team had made an active roster in the NFL. Sixteen of the members of the team had been drafted by the NFL. Three members await the 2020 NFL Draft. While participation in professional leagues creeped into the deliberation process, the student-athletes are on this team because of their accomplishments on the collegiate football field.

There are four D2Football.com Offensive Players of the Year selections on the team. They are joined by five Defensive Player of the Year selections. Three players on the team earned four Harlon Hill Trophies.

Adam Dorrel was the obvious choice for the coach of the team. He won three national championships at Northwest Missouri and had a 76-8 record (.904). From 2013-2016, he won three championships and only lost two games.


First Team:

QB: Jason Vander Laan (Ferris State)

RB: Franklyn Quiteh (Bloomsburg)

RB: Austin Ekeler (Western Colorado)

WR: Jeff Janis (Saginaw Valley)

WR: Billy Brown (Shepherd)

TE: Adam Shaheen (Ashland)

OL: Ryan Schraeder (Valdosta State)

OL: Garth Heikkinen (Minnesota Duluth)

OL: Ryan Jensen (CSU-Pueblo)

OL: Amini Silatolu (Midwestern State)

OL: Joe Long (Wayne State (Mich.)


DL: Matt Judon (Grand Valley)

DL: Brandon Williams (Missouri Southern)

DL: Jamie Meder (Ashland)

DL: Matt Longacre (Northwest Missouri)

LB: Deon Lacey (West Alabama)

LB: Nate Dreiling (Pittsburg State)

LB: Connor Harris (Lindenwood)

DB: Malcolm Butler (West Alabama)

DB: Kyle Duggar (Lenoir-Rhyne)

DB: Rontez Miles (Cal U)

DB: Pierre Desir (Lindenwood)


K: Greg Zuerlein (Missouri Western)

P: Taylor Accardi (Colorado Mines)

AP: John Brown (Pittsburg State)


Second Team:

QB: Luis Perez (Texas A&M-Commerce)

RB: Cameron McDondle (CSU-Pueblo)

RB: Ja’Quan Gardner (Humboldt State)

WR: Brody Oliver (Colorado Mines)

WR: Shane Zylstra (Minnesota State)

TE: Brian Leonhardt (Bemidji State)

OL: Alex Cappa (Humboldt State)

OL: Eric Kush (Cal U)

OL: Brandon Fusco (Slippery Rock)

OL: Matt Armstrong (Grand Valley)

OL: Trey Pipkens (Sioux Falls)


DL: Marcus Martin (Slippery Rock)

DL: Grover Stewart (Albany State)

DL: Cedric Thornton (Southern Arkansas)

DL: Zach Sieler (Ferris State)

LB: Larry Dean (Valdosta State)

LB: Adam Bighill (Central Washington)

LB: Carlos Fields (Winston-Salem)

DB: Janoris Jenkins (North Alabama)

DB: Jeff Heath (Saginaw Valley)

DB: Tavierre Thomas (Ferris State)

DB: Brandon Dixon (Northwest Missouri)


K: Dante Brown (Fort Hays)

P: Randy Weich (Wayne State (Neb.)

AP: Deonte Harris (Assumption)