Wildcat Being Inducted Into NSIC Hall Of Fame, Standout Thrower From 2005 – 09

Wildcat Being Inducted Into NSIC Hall Of Fame, Standout Thrower From 2005 – 09
Courtesy of Wayne State Athletics.

WAYNE – With several notable names for women’s throwing events in track & field, a past Wayne State College All-American and NCAA National Champion is being inducted into the 2022 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Hall of Fame this summer.

According to a release from Wayne State Athletics, Katie Wilson, a native of Glenwood, Iowa will join the 2022 NSIC Hall of Fame Class set for Tuesday, July 12 at the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Moorhead, Minnesota.

Following a two-year hiatus of the Hall of Fame induction ceremony due to COVID-19, this will also be a part of the NSIC’s annual Summer Kickoff Event.

Joining Wilson from Wayne State College for the 2022 NSIC Hall of Fame class will be Maggie McNamara of Concordia-St. Paul, Jim Kapitan from MSU Moorhead, Amanda (Madden) Mahlke of Northern State, Link Steffen from Southwest Minnesota State, Matt Schneck of St. Cloud State and Ben Barrone of Winona State.

Wilson was a standout thrower for the Wayne State women’s track and field team from 2005-09. She helped WSC to three straight runner up finishes at the NSIC Indoor Championships, winning two NSIC indoor shot put titles (2005, 2006) and five conference titles in the outdoor season being the 2005 shot put, 2008 discus and hammer throw and 2009 shot put and discus.

Wilson was a four time All-American at WSC, highlighted by the 2008 outdoor national title in the shot put that made her the first female NCAA national champion in school history. Other All-American honors included 2006 indoor shot put (5th), 2008 indoor shot put (4th) and 2008 outdoor discus (5th).

Wilson held school records in five events and was the 2005 NSIC Outdoor Newcomer of the Year and 2006 NSIC Indoor Field Athlete of the Year and was inducted into the Wayne State Athletic Hall of Fame in 2015. She is currently a fifth grade teacher and assistant volleyball/track and field coach at Glenwood High School in Iowa.

Katie Wilson becomes the seventh individual from Wayne State College to be inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame, joining Dustin Jones (baseball) in 2019, volleyball player Emily (Schroeder) Jones in 2018, retired baseball coach John Manganaro (2016), softball/soccer standout Sarah (Herrick) Wagenfuhr (2015), baseball pitcher Brady Borner (2012) and the late Pete Chapman (athletic director) in 2006.

Founded in 1986, the Northern Intercollegiate Conference (NIC – the former men’s conference) Hall of Fame was established to recognize and honor those who made significant contributions to the conference, to create favorable publicity and public relations for the league and to help preserve the history of the NIC, its member institutions, student-athletes, and other significant individuals affiliated with the league. For the first two inductions (1986 and 1990) each selection hailed from the NIC.  In 1992, the Northern Sun Conference (NSC – the former women’s conference) and the NIC merged, creating the current Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).  After annual inductions since 2000, the NSIC Hall of Fame now boasts over 200 members and one team.

Each NSIC school (who has been a league member for at least ten years) is asked to submit one candidate per institution for induction into the Hall.  Each of the candidates are derived from individuals who have been affiliated with the NSIC, NIC, NSC and their member institutions.

In order to be eligible for the NSIC Hall of Fame, candidates must have made their contributions in one of the following areas being 1) former student-athletes, 2) administrator/coach, 3) official/supervisor/coordinator, 4) contributor/supporter or 5) team.

The conference provides two plaques; one of which will go to the inductee and one to the institution represented. A history of each inductee will be kept in the league office in Burnsville, Minnesota and each institution will prominently display the plaques of their respective NSIC Hall of Fame inductees.