WBCA Academic Team Honors Issued To Five League Women Basketball Teams, Wayne State College Listed 10th

WBCA Academic Team Honors Issued To Five League Women Basketball Teams, Wayne State College Listed 10th
Courtesy of Wayne State Athletics

WAYNE – The Wayne State College women’s basketball team recently earned an award from the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

In a release from the WBCA office in Atlanta, Georgia, WSC received the 2017-18 Top 25 Honor Roll Team announced Tuesday morning. The Wildcats ranked 10th in NCAA Division II with a team cumulative grade point average of 3.677 last year.

The WBCA Academic Top 25 recognizes NCAA Division I, II and III schools along with NAIA and junior colleges inclusive of all student-athletes on their rosters for the entire season. This is the 23rd year in which WBCA has compiled the team academic honor rolls.

Wayne State was one of five schools from the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference to earn the award. This is the first time since the 2012-13 season that WSC has collected the honor after winning it for five straight seasons.

Wayne State College went 25-7 in the 2017-18 season and placed second in the NSIC South Division with an 18-4 league mark. Under new head coach Brent Pollari, WSC will open their campaign on Friday and Saturday, November 9 – 10 at home. WSC will face Northwest Missouri State on Friday and Nebraska-Kearney on Saturday with game times still TBD.

Rank Institution Head Coach GPA
1 Michigan Technological University Kim Cameron 3.796
2 Purdue University Northwest Tom Megyesi 3.755
3 Lubbock Christian University Steve Gomez 3.750
4 University of Findlay James Wiedie 3.706
5 Lenoir Rhyne University Cameron Sealey 3.701
6 Ashland University Robyn Fralick 3.699
7 Minnesota State University, Moorhead Karla Nelson 3.686
8 Rockhurst University Larry Park 3.683
9 Univ. of Colorado-Colorado Springs Lynn Plett 3.682
10 Wayne State College Chris Kielsmeier 3.677
11 Mckendree University Kari Kerkhoff 3.673
12 University of the Sciences Jackie Hartzell 3.672
13 Fort Hays State University Tony Hobson 3.667
14 Regis University Molly Marrin 3.648
15 Seton Hill University Mark Katarski 3.643
T16 University of Southern Indiana Rick Stein 3.640
T16 Fort Lewis College Jason Flores 3.640
18 Augustana University Dave Krauth 3.634
19 Gannon University James Brunelli 3.615
20 Minnesota State University, Mankato Emilee Thiesse 3.611
21 University of Mary Rick Neumann 3.596
22 Quincy University Jenifer Garber 3.589
23 Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Lisa Nuxol-Wilson 3.584
24 Saginaw Valley State University Jamie Pewinski 3.575
25 Walsh University Katie  Bruce 3.574