Wayne State Cross Country Results From Augie Twilight

Wayne State Cross Country Results From Augie Twilight
Courtesy of Wayne State College.

SIOUX FALLS, SD – A unique cross country race attracted over 300 runners in each race for the Wayne State College women’s and men’s cross country team Friday night.

From Yankton Trails Club in Yankton, South Dakota, WSC took part in the Augie Twilight.

The Wayne State College women’s finished 16th out of 28 teams with 483 points while the WSC men placed 15th out of 32 with 453 points.

The meet attracted numerous NCAA Division I schools along with nine NSIC schools to go with other NCAA Division II, III, NAIA and junior colleges from the region

Individually for the Wildcat women, the top three were all within three seconds of each other. Sophomore Lindsey Stuckey was the top finisher in 98th place out of 313 runners covering the 5,000-meter course in a time of 20:04. Following closely behind was junior Brooke Solomon in 100th place (20:05) and fellow junior Allison Stineman finished 104th (20:07).

Junior Kylie Pachta was next in 159th place at 20:53 with freshman Ava McGown placing 186th in 21:27 and junior Kelsey Larsen 188th at 21:28. Other Wildcat finishers were Maelee Beacom (191st – 21:31), Sydney Escritt (211th – 21:52), Madeline Kunz (213th – 21:55), Jozlyn Barnes (229th – 22:20) and Kenzie Mosel (257th – 22:57).

South Dakota State captured the women’s team title with 84 points, ahead of second place Nebraska at 97 with Minnesota State third at 98. Nebraska-Kearney was fourth at 112 points followed by South Dakota (117), Omaha (159), Creighton (176), Sioux Falls (202) and Concordia (Neb.) with 261 points.


Individually for the Wildcat men, senior Will McGonial and newcomer junior Titus Kiptoo finished withine one-half second of each other. McGonigal edged Titus Kiptoo as the top Wayne State finisher, crossing the line in 59th place out of a field of 323 runners with a time of 20:36.19 on the four-mile course. Kiptoo, a transfer from American International College, was next in 60th at 20:36.69.

Sophomore Brandon Mundorf followed for Wayne State in 111th place in a time of 21:16 while junior Abe Schroeder was 153rd at 21:49. Other Wayne State finishers included Quentin Dreyer (182nd – 22:08), Brandon Mitzel (207th – 22:26), Gabe Peitz (238th – 23:01) and Andrew Wyllie (298th – 24:57).

South Dakota State easily captured the men’s team title with 24 points, well ahead of runner up Augustana with 80 points. Nebraska-Kearney (94), Sioux Falls (113) and Nebraska (128) rounded out the top five teams. Creighton was sixth with 221 points followed by Minot State (230), Minnesota State (247), South Dakota (290) and Carleton (296) closing out the top 10 teams.

The Wayne State College women’s and men’s cross country team will be off until Saturday, September 17 during the Nebraska/Woody Greeno Invite in Lincoln at Mahoney Park Golf Course.