Wayne State College Winter NSIC All-Academic Team Members, 12 Of 20 With 3.60+ GPA

Wayne State College Winter NSIC All-Academic Team Members, 12 Of 20 With 3.60+ GPA
Courtesy of Wayne State Athletics.

WAYNE – Following the winter sports season, the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference announced that 758 student-athletes have earned NSIC All-Academic honors.

According to a release from Wayne State Athletics, WSC put 20 on the list.

A total of 466 student-athletes from the NSIC were also named to the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence with Wayne State College having 12 of their 20 student-athletes picking up the All-Academic Team of Excellence Award.

For the fourth year, the NSIC highlights the All-Academic Team members with a 3.60 grade point average or higher with the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence Award.

To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence, a student-athlete must have a 3.60 cumulative GPA or higher, while NSIC All-Academic Team members must have a 3.20 cumulative GPA or higher. Additionally, the student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at her/his institution (true freshmen, redshirt freshmen and ineligible athletic transfers are not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at that institution.

The WSC women’s indoor track and field team had eight selections followed by men’s indoor track and field with six. Men’s and women’s basketball each had three honorees.

The following is a listing of Wayne State student-athletes named to the 2021 NSIC Winter All-Academic Teams:

*All-Academic Team of Excellence members


Men’s Basketball (3/1):                    

Ben Dentlinger *                    Gr.           New London, Iowa

Jordan Janssen                   Jr.            Lincoln, Neb.

Nate Thayer                          Jr.            Springfield, Neb.


Women’s Basketball (3/2):

Kylie Hammer *                    Sr.           Wayne, Neb.

Ashely Gustavson                Jr.            North Mankato, Minn.

Kassidy Pingel *                   Jr.            Aurelia, Iowa


Men’s Indoor Track & Field (6/3):

Brock Hegarty *                    Gr.           Fremont, Neb.

Nathan Hiemer                     Gr.           Columbus, Neb.

Bryce Holcomb *                  Sr.           Lincoln, Neb.

Aaron English *                    Sr.           Omaha, Neb.

Michael Kueny                     Jr.            Alta, Iowa

Will McGonigal                     Jr.            Hailey, Idaho


Women’s Indoor Track & Field (8/6):

Mckenzie Scheil *                Gr.           Fairmont, Neb.

Jadin Wagner *                     Gr.           Lawton, Iowa

Nicole Heeren *                    Sr.           Allison, Iowa

Marin Jetensky *                  Sr.           Tekamah, Neb.

Allie Rosener *                     Sr.           Newcastle, Neb.

Brooklynn Chipps                Jr             Elgin, Neb.

Kendra Paasch *                  Jr.            Scribner, Neb.

Keyla Sambo                        Jr.            Curacaco