Wayne High Athletic Banquet Honors Student-Athletes

WAYNE – High school athletes, their parents, coaches and community members packed into Frey Conference Suite to celebrate Wayne Community School athletes.

Tuesday evening was not only election day for Nebraska Primaries, but a night to honor and award several athletes.

Booster Club President, Travis Meyer welcomed the crowd before dismissing groups for dinner provided by Wayne State College. Following the introduction of all coaches and athletes, special recognition for athletes were announced for those who competed in three sports, letter winners, state participants and more.

Francine Gross and Ron Carnes were inducted into the Wayne High School Athletic Hall of Fame. Unfortunately, Francine was unable to attend as her father Pat Gross accepted the award in her honor.

Next year’s Booster Club President will be Adam Endicott.

Award recipients are listed below.

Most Outstanding/Valuable Player Award for each sport:

Christopher Woerdemann (boys cross country); Andrea Torres (girls cross country); Mason Lee (football, boys basketball and boys track); Megan Keiser (girls golf); Kylie Hammer (volleyball, girls basketball and girls track); Tori Kniesche (softball); Juan Vergara (wrestling); Jonah Brodersen (boys golf) and Zane Jackson (baseball).

Master Sports Award:

Beau Bowers, Kylie Hammer, Mason Lee, Molly Hoskins, Ryan Jaixen, Jenna Trenhaile and Brennan O’Reilly.

Marines Distinguished Athlete Award:

Female: Jenna Trenhaile

Male: Zane Jackson

Terry Johnson Award:

Award: Emily Longe

Scholarship – Kylie Hammer

Rocky Ruhl Athletic Scholarship:

Female: Jenna Trenhaile

Male: Jack Evetovich

Moller Memorial Award:

Female: Andrea Torres

Male: Beau Bowers

Sportsmanship Award:

Female: Kylie Hammer

Male: Tyler Gilliland

Stan Stednitz Memorial Cross-Country Award:

Female: Andrea Torres

Male: Christopher Woerdemann

Larry Gamble Memorial Award:

Hunter Jorgensen

Runza/KTCH/KCTY Scholar/Athlete Award:

Female: Jenna Trenhaile

Male: Jack Evetovich

Wayne Booster Club Scholarship Recipients:

Beau Bowers, Kylie Hammer, Mason Lee, Molly Hoskins, Brennan O’Reilly and Jenna Trenhaile.