Wayne High Athletes Recognized For Accomplishments

WAYNE – Officials with Wayne Community Schools recently announced the 2019-20 Athletic Sports Banquet award winners.

The banquet was scheduled to take place on May 19 on the campus of Wayne State College, but, like many other events, canceled due to COVID-19. The evening would have kicked off with a welcome speech by Booster Club president, Ryan Dahl followed by dinner and introduction of the Wayne High School Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee(s) which has been deferred until next year.

According to a release from WCS, the program was scanned to KTCH/KCTY over the weekend.

Wayne High athletes and coaches would have been introduced before superintendent Dr. Mark Lenihan gave special recognition for freshmen through senior athletes.

Distinguished Athlete Awards were issued to Tyrus Eischeid and Emily Armstrong; Terry Johnson Award towards Brooklyn Kruse; Rocky Ruhl Athletic Scholarship for Trevor DeBoer and Faith Junck; Moller Memorial Award for Gunnar Jorgensen and Hailey Backer; Wayne Booster Club Scholarships towards Tyrus Eischeid, Noah Lutt and Frankie Klausen; Sportsmanship for Trevor DeBoer and Hailey Backer; Stan Stednitz Memorial Cross Country Award for Christopher Woerdemann and Laura Hasemann; Larry Gamble Memorial Award for James Dorcey as well as Runza/KTCH/KCTY Scholarship for Josh Lutt and Frankie Klausen.

Master Sports Award recipients were given to Tyrus Eischeid, Noah Lutt and Frankie Klausen.

The Most Outstanding/Valuable Player awards included Christopher Woerdemann (boys cross country), Laura Hasemann (girls cross country), Reid Korth (football), Natalie Bentjen (girls golf), Tori Kniesche (softball), Lauren Pick (volleyball), Tyrus Eischeid/Shea Sweetland (boys basketball), Frankie Klausen (girls basketball) and Mike Leatherdale (wrestling). Spring sports of baseball, boys golf as well as boys and girls track & field were deferred until next year.

Athletic Banquet Awards 2020 2020 Wayne High Athletic Banquet

Attached is the document that Dr. Lenihan would have announced during the banquet with complete information on each student-athlete.

Athletic Banquet Awards 2020