Wayne Baseball Earns #3 Seed During B-6 District Tournament, May 5 – 7

ASHLAND – With a few regular season games remaining on the Wayne High baseball schedule, including a trip to Ashland this weekend, District brackets were posted a week ahead of postseason competition where the Blue Devils will travel back to Ashland.

According to a release from the NSAA, the Blue Devils were tabbed as the #3 seed in the B-6 District hosted by Platte Valley as games will be played at Jack Anderson Ball Park in Ashland.

Platte Valley is a co-op of Ashland-Greenwood, Yutan and Mead.

B-6 District bracket.

Postseason baseball will last from Thursday, May 5 – Saturday, May 7 and be single elimination this year.

WHS is 13-6 on the season and will open the postseason with #6 Guardian Angels Central Catholic/Scribner-Snyder/West Point-Beemer on Thursday, May 5 at 2:30 p.m.

The Patriots are 4-8 on the season.

The Blue Devils used a perfect game from Books Kneifl on April 4 to win 1-0 in Wayne over GACC/Scribner-Snyder/West Point-Beemer and won 11-1 in West Point on April 26.

The Blue Devil/Patriot winner will face #2 Beatrice (14-4) on Friday at 2:30 p.m.

Another first round game on May 5 will feature #4 Ralston (10-9) vs. #5 Seward (4-16) at 5:30 p.m. The winner will face the host #1 Platte Valley (16-5) on Friday at 5:30 p.m.

The championship game is slated for Saturday, May 7 at 2:30 p.m.

WHS is scheduled to play their final home game of the season Thursday welcoming in Adams Central at 4:30 p.m.

The Wayne High baseball team will visit Platte Valley on Saturday, April 30 and play at Malcolm on Monday, May 2.

B-2 District bracket.

B-4 District bracket.

B-5 District bracket.

Other northeast Nebraska teams in action during postseason baseball:

South Sioux City will be the #7 seed in the B-1 District hosted by Norris. The Cardinals (3-12) will open with #2 Adams Central (8-6) at 3 p.m. on Thursday, May 5.

Thurston-Cuming County (Pender/BRLD/Emerson-Hubbard) will be the #7 seed in the B-3 District hosted by Central City/Fullerton/Centura. The TC Thunder (1-12) will open with #2 Elkhorn (12-11) at 1:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 5 from Kernel Field in Central City.