Wayne Athletic Awards Night Recipients

WAYNE – All four classes of Wayne High School athletes were recognized along with special awards and scholarships being announced during Wednesday evening’s 2022 Athletic Awards Night.

From the Wayne Jr/Sr High School gymnasium, Booster Club President Jason Sears welcomed the family and friends of the current Wayne High students.

Wayne Booster Club

Athletic Director Dave Wragge moved right into the highlight of the night being the introduction of Wayne High Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees.

Wayne High Athletic Hall of Fame Class

They were Brad Hansen (four-year, three sport athlete in cross country; track & field; boys basketball 1999 – 2002), Molly Hill (softball 2002 – 2004), Terry Munson (Wayne High boys golf coach 1986 – 2007) and the 1995-1996 girls cross country team (Anne Wiseman, Jessica Ford, Sara Kinney, Lisa Walton, Tara Hart, Ellie Jones, Amy Close and coach Rocky Ruhl).

Brad Hansen

Molly Hill

Terry Munson_Cross Country Team

Prior to more awards being handed out, the reveal of the Class A 2022 Wayne High girls state bowling championship banner was held. The Blue Devil girls bowling team has won the first two years of this state tournament.

Wayne High School Athletes

Wayne High School Athletes cont.

With the spring sport MVPs still to be announced at the end of the spring competition, all other Most Valuable Player awards were recognized. They included Jesus Zavala (boys cross country); Kyla Krusemark (girls cross country); Tanner Walling (football); Riley Haschke (girls golf); Kendall Dorey (softball); Kiara Krusemark (volleyball); Brandon Bartos (boys basketball); Brooklyn Kruse (girls basketball); Ashton Munsell (boys wrestling); Jaycee Bruns (girls wrestling); Brogan Foote (boys bowling) and Jersi Jensen (girls bowling).

Wayne High Coaching Staff 2021-22

Distinguished Athlete Award: Brooklyn Kruse and Tanner Walling

Terry Johnson Award: Kendall Dorey (scholarship) and Kyla Krusemark

Rocky Ruhl Athletic Scholarship: Kiara Krusemark and Tanner Walling

Moller Memorial Award: Kiara Krusemark and James Dorcey

Wayne Booster Club Scholarship: Kiara Krusemark, Rubie Klausen, James Dorcey and Tanner Walling

Sportsmanship Award: Sydney Redden/Hope O’Reilly (tie) and Tanner Walling

Stan Stednitz Memorial Cross-Country Award: Laura Hasemann and Jesus Zavala

Larry Gamble Memorial Award: Dakota Spann

Runza/KTCH/KCTY Scholar/Athlete Award: Taytum Sweetland and James Dorcey

Master Sports Award: Kiara Krusemark, Rubie Klausen, James Dorcey and Tanner Walling

Dink Memorial Bowling Scholarship: Jamie Janke