Wakefield Athletic Award Recipients

Wakefield Athletic Award Recipients
Courtesy of Wakefield Athletic Boosters.

WAKEFIELD – Junior High and High School athletes in Wakefield were honored during their Athletic Boosters Athletic Banquet on Wednesday.

From the Civic Center in Wakefield, High School Athletic Director Matt Brenn thanked the Wakefield Athletic Boosters for organizing the banquet.

Wednesday’s banquet was an excellent way to cumulate the accomplishments of the individual athletes and teams at Wakefield High School.

The Athletic Director’s Athletes of the Year are selected by a point system based on participation, in-season performance, achievement and postseason recognition. Only juniors and seniors are eligible and an athlete may win more than once. Ties are possible, as are situations where there may be no winner at all and an athlete must earn at least 60 points during the course of the year to be eligible.

The 2021-22 Athletic Director’s Athletes of the Year in Wakefield are Aishah Valenzuela and Cade Johnson.

Below are the major awards handed out to the boys and girls athletes at Wakefield High School. The awards are named after individuals who are alumni of Wakefield High School and avid followers or even participants in sports at Wakefield High School.


Dan Gardner Academic/Athletic Award ($500 scholarship): 

Aishah Valenzuela


Don C. Kober Award:

David Beltran


LeAnn Hale:

Destiny Helzer


Warren Hall Moller Award:

Cade Johnson


W-Club Award:

Aishah Valenzuela


Max “Bud” Greve Team Award:

Aishah Valenzuela

Alex Arenas

Makenna Decker

Ashlyn Boeckenhauer

Katie Borg

Daveigh Munter-McAfee

Jordan Metzler

Cade Johnson

Walker Lundahl

Sam Chase

Johnathan Birkley

Anthony Valenzuela

Jesse Lundahl


4-year, 3 sport Award:

Aishah Valenzuela

Gabe Lamprecht