Two-Run Seventh Inning Not Enough For Wayne Seniors, Eliminated From State Tournament

WAYNE – For the third meeting in postseason play the Wayne and Wahoo Senior American Legion ball clubs squared off, this time for an elimination game.

After Wahoo defeated Wayne twice, of 7-2 and 12-7 in West Point last week during the B5 Area Tournament, the two teams took to Hank Overin Field Sunday afternoon in Class B Senior State Legion action.

Both pitchers were cruising along through four innings of scoreless baseball. But, then in the home half of the fifth inning, Wahoo Post 82 brought in the go-ahead run before adding two more runs in the sixth. Wayne was able to bring in two runs in the top of the seventh but fell 3-2. Wayne ends their season at 14-14 as Wahoo will fight off another elimination game with a 26-11 record.

Wayne vs. Wahoo:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E

0 0 0 0 0 0 2  2 8 3 – Wayne Post 43

0 0 0 0 1 2 X 3 7 1 – Wahoo Post 82

Brennan O’Reilly singled twice and scored as Hagan Miller and Zane Jackson both singled twice for Wayne. Tucker Nichols singled and drove in a run; Adam Bentjen singled; Beau Bowers scored a run as Tyler Lutt accounted for a RBI.

Bentjen suffered the loss in six innings allowing three runs off of seven hits while striking out two batters, walking and hitting one each.

Wahoo was led by Karson Hesser with two singles and a RBI as Trey Ahrens tripled and scored a run. Billy Hancock, Chase Stebbing and Cade Belitz all singled while Nick Oden doubled; Collin Morrissey accounted for a RBI and Cole Culver and Ryan Ickler both scored.

Austin Scott picked up the complete game win in seven innings allowing two runs off of eight hits while striking out six batters and hitting two.

Sunday Scores:

Elimination game: Bennington 4, Alliance 0

Elimination game: Wahoo 3, Wayne 2

Winner’s bracket: Hickman 11, McCook 8

Winner’s bracket: Springfield 5, Lincoln Lutheran 3


Monday’s schedule:

Elimination game: Wahoo vs. McCook at 1 p.m.

Elimination game: Bennington vs. Lincoln Lutheran at 4 p.m.

Winner’s bracket: Hickman vs. Springfield at 7 p.m.