Tri County Northeast Boys Golf Team Wins C-3 District, Oswald Finishes First

HARTINGTON – Several area high school boys golf teams made their way to Hartington on Monday.

From the Hartington Golf Club, Hartington-Newcastle was the host for a total of 15 programs.

Tri County Northeast was crowned C-3 District champion with a 352, just three strokes better than runner-up Hartington Cedar Catholic who shot a 355 and followed closely by West Holt in third being a shot back at 356. The top three district teams will advance to state along with the top 10 individuals.

C-3 Results.

Ponca finished fourth with a 365, Battle Creek took fifth with a 371, Norfolk Catholic placed sixth (373), Hartington-Newcastle (seventh – 377), Crofton (eighth – 390), Summerland (ninth -418) and Elkhorn Valley (10th – 545) closed out team scoring. BRLD, Laurel-Concord-Coleridge, Wakefield, Winnebago and Lutheran High Northeast didn’t have complete team scores.

Nathan Oswald of Tri County Northeast shot the 18-hole low 78 to win the event, followed by Jay Steffen (HCC) in second with a 82 and Ben Jorgensen of Tri County Northeast in third also with an 82.

Reece Morten of Hartington-Newcastle was an additional qualifier who finished fourth with an 83; West Holt teammates (Weston Mathis and Mason Mitchell) went fifth and sixth respectively both with a 85; Cazden Christensen (HCC) shot an 87 for seventh as the final three placings were additional qualifiers being Eugene DeCora (Winnebago), Luke Beckman (Battle Creek) and Grant Sprakel (Ponca) all shooting an 88.

Another northeast Nebraska boys golf team competed in the C-2 District meet hosted by Archbishop Bergan from the Fremont Golf Club as Wisner-Pilger placed 13th with a 452. Also, in the A-1 District hosted by Norfolk High from Fair Play Golf Course, Norfolk shot a 334 to place fourth.

The 2022 NSAA Boys State Golf Championships will be Tuesday and Wednesday, May 24 – 25. Class A will compete at the Norfolk Country Club; Class B at the Scotts Bluff Country Club in Scottsbluff; Class C at the Elks Country Club in Columbus and Class D at the Lake Maloney Golf Club in North Platte. Each of the two-day championship rounds will start at 9 a.m.