Several Local High School Football Student-Athletes Represented Among NEN Red Vs. White Game

NORFOLK – Participants competing during the 2021 Northeast Nebraska All-Star Football Classic were announced.

According to a release from the NEN All-Star Football Classic Board of Directors, the coaches, officials and players for the eighth Red Vs. White game were posted this past weekend.

Steve Neptune of West Holt High School and Dan Maresh of Bancroft-Rosalie/Lyons-Decatur (BRLD) have been named head coaches for the Northeast Nebraska All-Star Football Classic scheduled for Saturday, June 12. The game will be played at Veteran’s Memorial Field in Norfolk with kickoff slated for noon.

Neptune served as an assistant for the Red Team in the 2015 game and will lead the Reds in 2021. Maresh was an assistant for the White Team in 2015 and will serve as head coach for the Whites this year.

Neptune’s staff will include Justin Jordan of Lutheran High Northeast, Joe Kvidera of Emerson-Hubbard, Chris Nemetz of West Holt, Colin Schurman of Stuart Public School and Bradley Wright of Boyd County.

Wayne High athletes competing on the Red Team include Layne Evans, Nolan Hunke, Victor Kniesche and Reid Korth while Wakefield representatives will feature Nicholas Arenas, Blake Brown, Justin Erb and Rylan Weaver.

Anthony Isom, Allen; Kerby Hochstein and Myles Thoene, Hartington Cedar Catholic; Kobe Heitman, Hartington-Newcastle; Hunter Bennett and Alex Luze, Ponca; Justin Haselhorst, Randolph; as well as Garret Meier, Tristan Miller, Logan Moeller and Shawn Rinkel, Pierce will also complete on the Red Team.

 Joining Maresh on the white side will be Mason Alitz of BRLD, T.J Hilsinger of BRLD, Rusty Rautenberg of Elkhorn Valley, Trevor Staman of Norfolk Public School, and David Stricklin of Humphrey St. Francis.

Tyler McBride of Wisner-Pilger will be featured among the White Team.

Game officials for the 8th Red vs. White Northeast Nebraska All-Star Football Classic have been announced for the 2021 contest, according to Jeff Bellar, President of the Board of Directors.

The five-man crew, as voted on by the Classic’s Board of Directors, include: Bryan Daum of Battle Creek, referee; Jeff Keagle of Wakefield, umpire; Nate Hahne of Norfolk, back judge; Chris Barry of Battle Creek, head linesman and Brian Chapman of Battle Creek, as a line judge.


White Team players are:

Jesus Barragan, West Point-Beemer

Mike Brands, Oakland-Craig

Mason Bruggeman, Stanton

Gavyn Clause, Elkhorn Valley

Haustyn Forney, Humphrey St. Francis

Cole Greek, Boone Central

Lucas Hammer, Plainview

Brayden Hanley, Norfolk High

Julien Hearn, Neligh-Oakdale

Zach Huwaldt, Osmond

Colton Klabenes, Neligh-Oakdale

Ryan Kramer, Boone Central

Justin Leifeld, Humphrey St. Francis

Eli Lingle, Tekamah-Herman

Peyton Mathews, O’Neill

Tyler McBride, Wisner-Pilger

Jace Meinke, Battle Creek

Adam Miller, Elkhorn Valley

Mason Mink, Battle Creek

Caden Nelson, Oakland-Craig

Lance Paprocki, Clarkson-Leigh

Derek Petersen, Bancroft-Rosalie/Lyons-Decatur

Zach Pfeifer, Lindsay Holy Family

Sutton Pohlman, Stanton

Edgar Rodriguez, West Point-Beemer

Joe Rodriguez, West Point-Beemer

Dalton Ruth, Norfolk High

Logan Sanford, Chambers/Wheeler Central

Joshua Schamp, Norfolk High

Cody Steffen, Guardian Angels Central Catholic

Brett Uhing, Logan View/Scribner-Snyder

Diedrick Ulrich, Norfolk High

Anthony Umphress, Summerland

Zach Vander Griend, West Point-Beemer

Mason Walsh, O’Neill

Karter Welch, Humphrey St. Francis



Red Team players are:

Nicholas Arenas, Wakefield

Hunter Bennett, Ponca

Garrett Boelter, Lutheran High NE

Blake Brown, Wakefield

Jaxson Cadwallader, West Holt

Jackson Clausen, Norfolk Catholic

Cayden Cunningham, Norfolk Catholic

Adam Ectenkamp, Lutheran High NE

Justin Erb, Wakefield

Layne Evans, Wayne

Anthony Haberman, Wynot

Justin Haselhorst, Randolph

Kobe Heitman, Hartington-Newcastle

Kerby Hochstein, Cedar Catholic

Nolan Hunke, Wayne

Anthony Isom, Allen

Eli, Knapp Lutheran High NE

Victor Kniesche, Wayne

Reid Korth, Wayne

Alex Luze, Ponca

Garret Meier, Pierce

Austin Meikle, Norfolk Catholic

Tristan Miller, Pierce

Logan Moeller, Pierce

Quinn Pape, Lutheran High NE

Wade Paxton, Stuart

Alex Prim, Norfolk Catholic

Rumen Rentschler, West Holt

Shawn Rinkel, Pierce

Myles Thoene, Cedar Catholic

Austin Tramp, Crofton

Sam Vortherms, Creighton

Rylan Weaver, Wakefield

Isaiah Wiese, St. Mary’s

Peyton Wieseler, Wynot

Jaden Zimmerman, Crofton