Players Who Achieved 1,000 Yards Rushing, Passing & Receiving Listed

LINCOLN – Nebraska high school football athletes who surpassed the 1,000-yard mark in rushing, passing and receiving were recognized in December.

Just over a month after the Championship Finals were held for the seven respective classes (A-D2, D6), a list compiling the top skill positions were announced.

According to a release from the Nebraska Prep Zone on December 22, there were a record 84 athletes who passed for over 1,000 yards and a record of 14 who ran for over 1,000 yards while the 1,000-rushers were just shy of 100 at 98 individuals.

The numbers were compiled by Bobby Mills of Grand Island and saw for the first time that the number of players passing or receiving caught up to the rushers.

Dylan Kautz of Norfolk Catholic was the top rusher in Class C2 with 2,752 and third on the list as Bryce Zimmerer of Creighton led Class D1 in rushing with 2,742 yards ending fifth. The top runner was Christian Timm in six-man football from Eustis-Farnam (2,962).

For just the second time in 11-man football, three players have eclipsed the 1,000-yard mark in rushing for the same school. This was done for the first time in 2004 by Millard North. Three Pierce backs (Carson Oestreich, Dalton Freeman and Brett Tinker).


Northeast rushers:

Jared Minnick (GACC – 1,782)

Anthony Heiman (Osmond – 1,698)

Brayden Zimmerer (Creighton – 1,517)

Jaxon Kant (Lutheran High Northeast – 1,509)

Jacob Keiser (Hartington Cedar Catholic – 1,450)

Kyle Smith (Allen – 1,429)

Robby Mayberry (Oakland-Craig – 1,300)

Carson Oestreich (Pierce – 1,220)

Dalton Freeman (Pierce – 1,163)

Brantson Gieselman (Bloomfield – 1,163)

Ethan Koch (Hartington-Newcastle – 1,132)

Ghatlin Hegge (Wausa – 1,111)

Will Gatzemeyer (BRLD – 1,090)

Brett Tinker (Pierce – 1,045)

Evan Smith (Norfolk Catholic – 1,045)


Will Gatzemeyer from Bancroft-Rosalie/Lyons-Decatur led Class D1 with 2,519 yards passing. The top passing quarterback in Nebraska was Baylor Scheierman of Aurora (3,924).


Northeast passers listed:

Izac Reifenrath (Laurel-Concord-Coleridge – 1,623)

Ghatlin Hegge (Wausa – 1,475)

Landon Wieseler (Wynot – 1,391)

Anthony Heiman (Osmond – 1,251)

Nate Christiansen (Plainview – 1,160)

Shaye Morten (Hartington-Newcastle – 1.145)

Jared Mulder (Oakland-Craig – 1,084)

Braden Eisenhauer (Bloomfield – 1,069)

Jake Aitken (South Sioux City – 1,050)

Marcus Spotanski (Stanton – 1,001)


Area 1,000-yard receivers were Noah Schutte from Laurel-Concord-Coleridge with 1,309 while Lucas Vogt from BRLD recorded the second-most receiving yards of 1,169 behind Jackson Hirschfeld of Centennial (1,304).

For the complete list go to