Over 50 WSC Students-Athletes Listed Among 2019 NSIC Fall All-Academic Team

WAYNE – The five fall sports teams at Wayne State College represented well on and off the field this season as 53 individuals were honored on the 2019 NSIC Fall All-Academic Team.

According to a release from the Wayne State Athletics office, there were also 39 Wildcats who earned the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence Award. The NSIC will highlight All-Academic Team members with a 3.60 grade point average or higher.

To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence, a student-athlete must have a 3.60 cumulative GPA or higher, while NSIC All-Academic Team members must have a 3.20 cumulative GPA or higher. Additionally, the student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at her/his institution (true freshmen, red-shirt freshmen and ineligible athletic transfers are not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at that institution.

The WSC football team had the most selections for the Wildcats with 15 followed by women’s soccer at 13 and volleyball with 11. Wildcat men’s cross country and women’s cross country each had seven honorees.

*All-Academic Team of Excellence members

Men’s Cross Country (7/7):                            

Dylan Kessler *                     Sr.           Apache Junction, Ariz.

Nathan Pearson *                Sr.           Aurelia, Iowa

Brock Hegarty *                    Jr.            Fremont, Neb.

Nathan Hiemer *                  Jr.            Columbus, Neb.

Bryce Holcomb*                  Jr.            Lincoln, Neb.

Bailey Peckham *                Jr.            Benkelman, Neb.

Jakob Kemper *                   So.          Eagle, Neb.

Women’s Cross Country (7/6):

Kim Johnson *                      Sr.           Avoca, Neb.

Josephine Peitz *                 Sr.           Wakefield, Neb.

Molly McCartney                  Jr.            Nelson, Neb.

Marin Jetensky *                  So.          Tekamah, Neb.

Amanda Mote *                    So.          Trenton, Neb.

Allie Rosener *                     So.          Newcastle, Neb.

Andrea Torres *                    So.          Wayne, Neb.

Football (15/5):

Ian Ailts                                  Sr.           Sioux Falls, S.D.

Corbin Foster                        Sr.           Omaha, Neb.

Kolbie Foster *                      Sr.           Omaha, Neb.

Trevor Hudson                     Sr.           Derby, Kan.

Ethan Knudson *                  Sr.           Harlan, Iowa

Conner Paxton *                   Sr.           Stuart, Neb.

Jacob Protzman                   Gr.           Grimes, Iowa

Dorien Welch                        Sr.           Baton Rouge, La.

Austin Coffman *                 Jr.            Dunning, Neb.

Nicholas Gray                       So.          Hickman, Neb.

Nicholas Joynt                      So.          Garner, Iowa

Ryan Kennedy                     So.          Norwalk, Iowa

Mason Lee                            So.          Wayne, Neb.

Isaac Schafbuch                  So.          Madrid, Iowa

Alex Thramer *                     So.          O’Neill, Neb.

Women’s Soccer (13/11):

Madison Burgard *               Sr.           Bismarck, N.D.

Lauren Fleming *                 Sr.           Bismarck, N.D.

Claire Gay                             Sr.           El Paso, Texas

Rachel Grisham *                Sr.           Columbus, Neb.

Sophia Ketchmark *            Sr.           LaVista, Neb.

Carleigh Wilson *                 Sr.           Omaha, Neb.

Madison Craig *                   Jr.            Omaha, Neb.

Megan Schuster *                Jr.            Arvada, Colo.

Rylie Wehner *                     Jr.            Golden, Colo.

Madison Kemp                     So.          Brighton, Colo.

Megan Phillips *                   So.          Gillette, Wyo.

Gabi Rosa *                          So.          Omaha, Neb.

Brooke Worrel *                    So.          Olathe, Kan.

Volleyball (11/10): 

Morgan Alexander *            Sr.           Ord, Neb.

Tarrin Beller                          Sr.           Lindsay, Neb.

Haley Kauth *                       Sr.           Roseville, Minn.

Katie Stephens *                  Sr.           Omaha, Neb.

Alyssa Ballenger *               Jr.            Ankeny, Iowa

Jaci Brahmer *                     Jr.            Pierce, Neb.

Hope Carter                          Jr.            Mililani, Hawaii

Maddie Duffy *                     Jr.            Fridley, Minn.

Maddie Knobbe *                 Jr.            West Point, Neb.

Jacee Weber *                      Jr.            Dorchester, Neb.

Lauren Jacobsen *              So.          Wisner, Neb.