NSIC Spring All-Academic Team Announced, 35 Wildcats Listed

WAYNE – As all spring sports are in postseason play, student-athletes competing in the 2019 spring athletic season were recognized for their work in the classroom.

According to a release Thursday morning from the league office in Burnsville, Minnesota, 749 student-athletes have earned NSIC All-Academic honors including 35 of them from Wayne State College.

New this year, the NSIC will highlight the All-Academic Team members with a 3.60 grade point average or higher with the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence Award. Nineteen of the 35 All-Academic selections from Wayne State College had a 3.60 GPA or higher.

The WSC men’s outdoor track and field team had 12 honorees followed by baseball with nine selections, eight by women’s track and field and softball received six selections.

To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence, a student-athlete must have a 3.60 cumulative GPA or higher, while NSIC All-Academic Team members must have a 3.20 cumulative GPA or higher. Additionally, the student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at her/his institution (true freshmen, red-shirt freshmen and ineligible athletic transfers are not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at that institution.

The following is a listing of Wayne State student-athletes named to the 2019 NSIC Spring All-Academic Teams:

*All-Academic Team of Excellence members


Baseball (9/5):                    

Travis Miller *                        Sr.           Cumberland, Wis.

Jake Lemar *                        Jr.            Urbandale, Iowa

Craig Neumann                   Jr.            Plattsmouth, Neb.

Lawson Zenner                    Jr.            Savage, Minn.

Colin Chick *                         So.          LaVista, Neb.

Dylan Emanuel *                  So.          North Bend, Neb.

Andrew Hanson                   So.          Burnsville, Minn.

Alex Logelin                          So.          Cologne, Minn.

Aaron Ras *                          So.          Bancroft, Neb.

Softball (6/4):

Taylor Menard                      Sr.           Aurora, Colo.

Riley Vanderveen *             Sr.           Sedro-Woolley, Wash.

Morgan Vasa *                     Sr.           Colon, Neb.

Annie Grammar                   So.          Lawrence, Kan.

Ashley Hernandez *            So.          Omaha, Neb.

Maddie Moser *                    So.          Central City, Neb.

Men’s Outdoor Track & Field (12/5):

Clay Kramper                       Sr.           Homer, Neb.

Richard Sweeney                Sr.           Blair, Neb.

Jayle Hinkle                          Jr.            Ericson, Neb.

Dylan Kaup *                         Jr.            Neligh, Neb.

Nathan Pearson *                Jr.            Aurelia, Iowa

Preston Davis                       So.          Mondamin, Iowa

Brock Hegarty *                    So.          Fremont, Neb.

Bryce Holcomb *                  So.          Lincoln, Neb.

Cade Kalkowski                   So.          Niobrara, Neb.

Kyle Lowe                             So.          Sibley, Iowa

Bailey Peckham *                So.          Benkelman, Neb.

Justin Rohloff                       So.          Fremont, Neb.

Women’s Outdoor Track & Field (8/5):

Morgan Shearer                   Sr.           Mondamin, Iowa

Tia Jones *                            Jr.            Elkhorn, Neb.

Kim Lowman *                      Jr.            Avoca, Neb.

Josephine Peitz *                 Jr.            Wakefield, Neb.

Molly McCartney                  So.          Nelson, Neb.

Sophia Noecker                   So.          Hartington, Neb.

Sarah Stang *                       So.          Herman, Neb.

Kenzie Sullivan *                  So.          Laurens, Iowa