NSIC Releases Basketball Schedules, Wayne State To Face Eight Different Opponents In Eight Weeks

WAYNE – After missing out on early season games, NSIC schools will participate in 16 games over an eight-week period beginning in January.

According to a release from the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference office, schedules were approved by the NSIC Board of Directors with the health and safety of student-athletes, coaches and staff as the top priority. Both the basketball and wrestling schedules will begin in January and schools will follow NCAA Sports Science Institute (SSI) guidelines for competition.

To mitigate COVID-19 exposure, schools will only compete against one opponent each week of the season.

The NSIC Men’s and Women’s Basketball schedules will be 16-games played over 8 weeks with teams playing the same opponent at one site on back-to-back days. The season will start with two non-conference games against one NSIC out-of-division opponent. The conference schedule will then consist of 14 games with teams playing each member of its division twice. For this season, the NSIC will only crown a North Division and South Division Champion.

For the winter sports of men’s and women’s indoor track & field and women’s swimming & diving that do not operate under a conference schedule, schools will continue with the development of their schedules and with competition beginning in January.

Enhanced preseason reveals will be announced in mid-December for all winter sports via the NSIC Network and at NorthernSun.org. These will include preseason coaches’ polls, preseason players of the year, preseason student-athletes to watch, team previews and quotes from coaches.

The conference will continue to monitor the landscape and conditions surrounding the pandemic, locally, regionally, and nationally, and make any decisions or announcements, at a later date, as necessary.

MBB Schedule WBB Schedule

 

WSC Basketball schedule

Saturday, January 2: WSC vs. Northern State at 5:30/7:30 p.m.

Sunday, January 3: WSC vs. Northern State at 3:30/5:30 p.m.

 

Friday, January 8: WSC vs. Concordia-St. Paul at 5:30/7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 9:  WSC vs. Concordia-St. Paul at 3:30/5:30 p.m.

 

Friday, January 15: WSC at Minnesota State-Mankato at 5:30/7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 16: WSC at Minnesota State-Mankato at 3:30/5:30 p.m.

 

Friday, January 22: WSC vs. Upper Iowa at 5:30/7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 23: WSC vs. Upper Iowa at 3:30/5:30 p.m.

 

Friday, January 29: WSC at Winona State at 5:30/7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 30: WSC at Winona State at 3:30/5:30 p.m.

 

Friday, February 5: WSC at Sioux Falls at 5:30/7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 6 WSC at Sioux Falls at 3:30/5:30 p.m.

 

Friday, February 12: WSC vs. Southwest Minnesota State at 5:30/7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 13: WSC vs. Southwest Minnesota State at 3:30/5:30 p.m.

 

Friday, February 19: WSC at Augustana at 5:30/7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 20: WSC at Augustana at 3:30/5:30 p.m.

Share:
Comments