NSAA Wrestling Subdistrict Sites Announced

NSAA Wrestling Subdistrict Sites Announced
File photo.

WAYNE – As officials with the Nebraska School Activities Association are preparing for the start of winter sports, the post season wrestling format will look a little different this season.

According to a release from the NSAA, district competing teams in Class B, C and D will be split into a pair of subdistrict rounds and be played a week earlier, thus canceling the 2021 Dual Wrestling Championships.

Traditionally many teams and wrestlers make up each District wrestling tournament. With the districts already being determined, teams will be split into the subdistrict rounds.

The top four placers from each weight class in the subdistrict round will qualify for an eight-man bracket in the District round.

In Class B, only six teams will compete in each subdistrict; Class C will have eight teams along with 11 teams (more equivalent of eight full teams) in Class D. This is to address the problem of too many people at one place at one time.

The subdistrict qualifying round will be on February 6 with the district competition taking place on February 13.

Wayne High will join Seward, Omaha Gross, Falls City, Blair and the host York during the B2-B wrestling subdistrict. Minden will host the B2-A subdistrict along with Omaha Concordia, Platteview, Ralston and West Point-Beemer.

Pierce will compete in the B1-A subdistrict hosted by Nebraska City along with Adams Central, Bennington, Columbus Scotus, Elkhorn North and Schuyler. Waverly will host Boys Town, Hastings, Omaha Roncalli and South Sioux City during the B1-B subdistrict.


NSAA officials also announced that 2020-21 jamboree basketball games have been cancelled. The NSAA feels it is best currently to not have these games to allow the best opportunity to play games at the start of the season on December 3. As a reminder officials are asking, so that student-athletes have the best opportunity to compete this winter, that everyone should follow all state and local health guidelines.


Other northeast Nebraska wrestling teams competing in their subdistrict rounds: Complete subdistrict assignments found at nsaahome.org.


C1-B (North Bend): Arlington, Crofton-Bloomfield, Madison, Nebraska Christian, St. Paul, Tri County Northeast (Allen/Emerson-Hubbard) and Wisner-Pilger.

C2-A (Oakland-Craig): Battle Creek, Bishop Neumann, Central City, Hartington Cedar Catholic (Hartington-Newcastle), Lutheran High Northeast, Wilber-Clatonia and Winnebago.

C2-B (Raymond Central): Archbishop Bergan, Conestoga, Quad County Northeast (Randolph/Laurel-Concord-Coleridge), Sutton, Syracuse, Wakefield and Yutan.

C3-A (Aquinas): Centennial, Lincoln Christian, Louisville, Malcolm, Milford, Norfolk Catholic and South Central Unified #5 (Sandy Creek/Lawrence-Nelson)

C3-B (Logan View): BRLD, Cross County-Osceola, HTRS (Pawnee City), Lincoln Lutheran, Palmyra, Ponca and Twin River

C4-A (Mitchell): Arcadia/Loup City, Chase County, Gordon-Rushville, Hersey, O’Neill, Ravenna and Valentine.

D1-A (Shelby-Rising City): Anselmo-Merna, Arapahoe, Cedar Bluffs, Clarkson-Leigh, Friend, Pender, Plainview, Scribner-Snyder, South Loup (Callaway/Arnold) and Weeping Water.

D1-B (High Plains): Alma, Dorchester, Elm Creek, Fullerton, Franklin, GACC, Kenesaw, North Central and Wilcox-Hildreth.

D2-A (Pleasanton): Brady, Burwell, Elkhorn Valley, Meridian, Niobrara-Verdigre, Osmond, Santee, Shelton, St. Mary’s and Superior.

D3-A (Central Valley): Axtell, Hi-Line (Eustis-Farnam/Elwood), Overton, Sandhills Valley, Southern, Southern Valley, Stanton, Summerland (Clearwater, Ewing and Orchard), Thayer Central and Winside.

D3-B (East Butler): Cambridge, Creighton, Harvard, Hastings St. Cecilia, Howells-Dodge, Johnson County Central, Neligh-Oakdale, Sandhills/Thedford and Sumner-Eddyville-Miller (SEM).