NEN All-Star Football Classic Roster Announced

NORFOLK – Officials, coaches and team representatives were announced by Jeff Bellar, president of the Northeast Nebraska All-Star Football Classic Board of Directors in early April for a June event.

According to a release from the Norfolk Area Sports Council, the 2022 NEN All-Star Football game is scheduled for Saturday, June 11 at Veterans Memorial Field in Norfolk. Kickoff is slated for noon.

Click here for more information.

Troy Evans of Ponca will lead the Red Team while Kyle Schmidt of Plainview will lead the White Team during the Ninth Red vs. White Northeast Nebraska All-Star Football Classic.

2022 NEN All-Star Coaches

Wayne representatives will be Tanner Walling and Brandon Bartos as players as well as assistant coach Aaron Carlson joining the Red Team staff.

Gabe Escalante of Winside; Logan Bokemper of Wakefield; Evan Haisch and Deagan Puppe of Laurel-Concord-Coleridge; Tate Thoene, Hunter Thoene and Easton Becker of Hartington Cedar Catholic; Caleb Trimble of Pender; Jake Peitz of Hartington-Newcastle; Taylor Korth of Ponca; Josh Olesen of Allen; Brennen Kelly, Preston Burbach and Dillon Barnes of Norfolk Catholic; Cort Mckeown, Keaton Ranslem and Chantz Ames of Lutheran High Northeast as well as Matt Christensen, Michael Kruntorad, and Colton Fritz of Pierce were also listed on the Red Team as northeast Nebraska representatives.

Bellar said, “our Board of Directors is pleased with the high quality of coaches selected to coach in the 2022 game. These coaches have all had success in their coaching careers, have many years of experience, and are men of tremendous character. The coaches have been very busy picking their teams and are excited to be able to provide this experience for their players, their families and the football fans in Northeast Nebraska. This will be our 9th annual game; it would have been our 10th if not for having to cancel the game in 2020 due to the uncertainties of Covid.”

Game officials for the Red vs. White NEN All-Star Football Classic was voted on by the Board of Directors. They include Tod Heier from Columbus, and Eric Ceder, Terry Rinkol, Mark Burenheide, and Matt Euse.

Troy Evans: “It is a tremendous honor to be selected to coach in this game with and against some of the best athletes and coaches in the area and the state. The opportunities provided by the All-Star Classic for the athletes and coaches are outstanding and help to better an area that already has a strong football presence in the state. I am looking forward to the privilege of working with an outstanding coaching staff and some of the most talented football players in Northeast Nebraska.”

Coach Evans will be joined by Cody Volk of Pender, Ryan Olander of Ponca, Josh Watchorn of Homer, Allan Gottula of Laurel-Concord/Coleridge and Aaron Carlson of Wayne.


Red Team Players:

Zaiden Bernie, Winnebago

Brennen Kelly, Norfolk Catholic

Tate Thoene, Hartington Cedar Catholic

Preston Burbach, Norfolk Catholic

Jimmy Allen, Crofton

Aidan Hedstrom, St. Mary’s O’Neill

Matt Christensen, Pierce

Gabe Escalante, Winside

Logan Bokemper, Wakefield

Charlie Schroeder, Wynot

Tanner Walling, Wayne

Jon Munoz, Homer

Jake Peitz, Hartington/Newcastle

Dillon Barnes, Norfolk Catholic

Caleb Trimble, Pender

Brody Eggers, Creighton

Brandon Bartos, Wayne

Cort Mckeown, Lutheran High Northeast

Keaton Ranslem, Lutheran High Northeast

Taylor Korth, Ponca

Evan Haisch, Laurel-Concord-Coleridge

Easton Becker, Hartington Cedar Catholic

Michael Kruntorad, Pierce

Adam Everitt, St. Mary’s O’Neill

Colton Fritz, Pierce

Grady Smith, West Holt

Carlos Vargas, Winnebago

Chantz Ames, Lutheran High Northeast

Keysean Taylor, South Sioux City

Jarrett Andersen, Wausa

Aaron Venegas, South Sioux City

Josh Olesen, Allen

Jared Janssen, Crofton

Stran Sage, Crofton

Hunter Thoene, Hartington Cedar Catholic

Deagan Puppe, Laurel-Concord-Coleridge


Kyle Schmidt: “It is a great honor to be selected to coach in this game with some of the best coaches and players in Northeast Nebraska. This part of the state prides itself on great football and is well represented year in and year out in the playoffs and finals. Being able to lead an all-star team with great coaches is a privilege and one that will be a great time that I am looking forward to!”

Along with coach Schmidt on the White side will be Greg Wemhoff of Elgin/Pope John, Chris Koozer of Norfolk Public, Corey Valesek of Riverside, Jeremy Peter of Plainview and Andrew Carlson of Battle Creek.

Area players on the White Team include Spencer Batenhorst of Wisner Pilger as well as Miguel Perez and Jason Hagedorn of West Point-Beemer.


White Team Players:

Will Gunning, Plainview

Carson Thomsen, Oakland-Craig

Spencer Batenhorst, Wisner Pilger

Tanner Pfeifer, Humphrey St. Francis

Cale Wacker, Norfolk Public

Tony Berger, Riverside

Parker Krusemark, Stanton

Baron Buckendahl, Battle Creek

Dylan Amick, Battle Creek

Carter Hanel, Clarkson-Leigh

Grady Gatewood, Oakland-Craig

Issac Jimenez, Norfolk Public

Cody Maricle, Boone Central/Newman Grove

Ashton Schafer, Boone Central/Newman Grove

Levi Belina, Howells-Dodge

Blake Sindelar, Howells-Dodge

Carsten Bird, Boone Central/Newman Grove

Richard Brauer, Battle Creek

Jackson Waldo, CWC- Chambers Wheeler Central

R.J. Bayer, Howells-Dodge

Ethan Keller, Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family

Tavis Uhing, Oakland-Craig

Colton Wright, Elgin/Pope

John Agustus Gomez, Bancroft-Rosalie/Lyons-Decatur

Kamden Dusatko, Stanton

Miguel Perez, West Point-Beemer

Dylan Silva, Logan View-Scribner-Snyder

Mitchel Beeson, Clarkson-Leigh

Carson Maricle, Boone Central/Newman Grove

Jon Dixon, Oakland-Craig

Daylin Mallory, Norfolk Public

Kase Thompson, Battle Creek

Jason Hagedorn, West Point-Beemer

Colten Wietfeld, Humphrey St. Francis

Logan Muller, Summerland

Jacob Sjuts, Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family