National Champion Thrower, Wilson Inducted Into NSIC Hall Of Fame

National Champion Thrower, Wilson Inducted Into NSIC Hall Of Fame
Wilson (left) and Wayne State College Director of Athletics, Mike Powicki. Courtesy of Wayne State Athletics.

MOORHEAD, MN – A total of seven standout athletes were inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame earlier this week.

According to a release from Wayne State Athletics, Katie Wilson was Wayne State’s first-ever NCAA Division II individual female national champion in track and field.

Tuesday’s banquet was held at the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Moorhead, Minnesota at the NSIC’s annual Summer Kickoff event.

Wilson joined Maggie McNamara (volleyball) of Concordia-St. Paul, Jim Kapitan (men’s basketball) from MSU Moorhead, Amanda (Madden) Mahlke (women’s track and field) of Northern State, Link Steffen (wrestling) from Southwest Minnesota State, Matt Schneck (men’s basketball) of St. Cloud State and Ben Barrone (baseball) of Winona State as other members of the 2022 NSIC Hall of Fame Class.

A native of Glenwood, Iowa, Wilson was a standout thrower for the Wayne State women’s track and field team from 2005-09.  She lead WSC to three straight runner-up finishes at the NSIC Indoor Championships, winning two NSIC indoor shot put titles (2005, 2006) and five conference titles in the outdoor season (2005 shot put), 2008 discus and hammer throw and 2009 shot put and discus.

Wilson was a four time All-American at WSC, highlighted by the 2008 outdoor national title in the shot put that made her the first female NCAA national champion in school history.  Other All-American honors included 2006 indoor shot put (5th), 2008 indoor shot put (4th) and 2008 outdoor discus (5th).

Wilson held school records in five events and was the 2005 NSIC Outdoor Newcomer of the Year and 2006 NSIC Indoor Field Athlete of the Year.  She is currently a fifth grade teacher and assistant volleyball/track and field coach at Glenwood High School in Iowa.

Katie Wilson becomes the seventh individual from Wayne State College to be inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame, joining Dustin Jones (baseball) in 2019, volleyball player Emily (Schroeder) Jones in 2018, retired baseball coach John Manganaro (2016), softball/soccer standout Sarah (Herrick) Wagenfuhr (2015), baseball pitcher Brady Borner (2012) and the late Pete Chapman (athletic director) in 2006.