Little League Baseball World Series To Begin August 15

WILLIAMSPORT, PA – Eight teams from the United States and eight teams from around the world will be making their way to the northeast part of the states later this week for the 2019 Little League World Series.

From Williamsport, Pennsylvania, the 73rd edition of the tournament will last from Thursday, August 15 through Sunday, August 25.

The U.S and International finals are scheduled for August 24 with the winners of each championship game to meet in the Little League World Series title game on August 25. A consolation match between the runner-up teams will also be held earlier in the day August 25. There will also be a LLBWS Challenger Game played on August 24 between a pair of teams out of Massachusetts and Canada.

Opening round games this Thursday will begin with the Caribbean Region (Willemstad, Curacao) vs. the Australia Region (Sydney, New South Wales); followed by New England Region (Rhode Island) vs. Southeast Region (Virginia); Asia-Pacific Region (South Korea) vs. Latin America Region (Maracaibo, Venezuela) and closing out with Midwest Region (Minnesota) vs. Great Lakes Region (Kentucky). Wrapping up the first-round games Friday will feature Europe-Africa Region (Bologna, Italy) vs. Japan Region (Chofu Little League); West Region (Hawaii) vs. Southwest Region (Louisiana); Mexico Region (Guadalupe, Nuevo Leon) vs. Canada Region (British Columbia) and Northwest Region (Oregon) vs. Mid-Atlantic Region (New Jersey).