Laura Hasemann, Woerdemann Lead Wayne High Cross Country Runners In Kearney

KEARNEY – Nearly 200 high school girls and boys cross country teams were represented in the four different NSAA classes to open the week on the same course where state will be held at the end of October.

From the Kearney Country Club, the UNK Invite took place Monday.

In the Class C girls division, Wayne High placed 11th as a team with 197 points and their top runner took 16th being Laura Hasemann in a time of 22:37. Other Blue Devil results came from Autumn Avery (63rd – 25:00), Allyson Avery (68th – 25:28), Fatima Lucas-Garcia (72nd – 25:37), Erin Avery (104th – 26:57), Faith Junck (131st – 28:44), Karlee Janke (134th – 29:01) and Andi Belt (147th – 31:27).

Regan Hodsden of Mitchell won the race out of 171 runners in a time of 21:23.

Columbus Scotus placed two runners inside the top five to win the Class C girls race with 55 points as Milford held off Kearney Catholic for second (107-114).

Hartington-Newcastle also took sixth (147) as their top runner was Sara Burbach in 19th place (22:54). The top Pierce runner was Callie Arnold (25th – 23:25).


On the boys side, Wayne High finished 27th with 427 points as Christopher Woerdemann was the top Blue Devil finisher in 90th (20:30).

Other Wayne High runners who finished were Treyton Blecke (98th – 20:43), Hunter Schultz (129th – 21:28), Liam Spieker (134th – 21:37), Ethan McCraney (137th – 21:40), Ashton Munsell (171st – 22:32) and Sean Ashoff (230th – 24:46).

The Class C boys team race went to Sidney over Malcolm (78-87) while Aurora followed closely in third with 88 points. Northeast Nebraska runner went 1-2 as Carson Noecker of Hartington-Newcastle placed first out of 313 runners in a time of 17:03 and Pierce native, Mason Sindelar took second (17:15).

The HNS boys placed seventh as a team (169) as Pierce took 10th (186).

The Wayne High girls and boys cross country team will next run in the David City Aquinas Catholic Invite on Thursday, October 3. Girls varsity will run at 4:30 p.m. followed by the boys varsity at 5 p.m.