Josh Johnson Of Wayne Named NFHS, NSAA State Coach Of The Year In Girls Bowling

Josh Johnson Of Wayne Named NFHS, NSAA State Coach Of The Year In Girls Bowling
2021 Class A State Championship Team.

WAYNE – A northeast Nebraska coach was listed among 22 sports as a coach of the year winner in Nebraska.

According to a release from the Nebraska School Activities Association (NSAA), head Wayne High girls and boys bowling coach Josh Johnson was named the Girls Bowling Coach of the Year.

The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) and the Nebraska School Activities Association (NSAA) are pleased to announce the 2020-21 NFHS NSAA State Coaches of the Year.

Coach Johnson led the Wayne High girls bowling team to a 20-2 season during the inaugural 2021 NSAA State Bowling Championships last February.

The Blue Devil girls have already won the Boone Central Tournament along with dual wins over Plainview and Thurston County this season.

The Wayne boys opened the season with a home win over the Norfolk Catholic/Lutheran High Northeast team, lost in the semifinal round of the Boone Central Tournament before suffering a loss to Plainview and defeating Thurston County.

The Wayne High girls and boys bowling programs will host Columbus Lakeview, Hartington-Newcastle and Plainview on Tuesday, December 28 starting at 10 a.m. during an invitational from Wildcat Lanes.


Football: Chris Ardissono & Mark Rotter, BDS

Boys Basketball: Tim Cannon, Millard North

Girls Swimming and Diving: BJ Christiansen, Omaha Marian

Boys Bowling: Keith Cunnings, Fremont

Girls Tennis: Nolan DeWispelare, Lincoln Pius X

Girls Golf: Brock Ehler, Scottsbluff

Wrestling: Darin Garfield, Central City

Baseball: Greg Geary, Millard South

Girls Track & Field: Troy Hauxwell, Chase County

Girls Soccer: Digger Hawkins, Gretna

Girls Cross Country: Kurt Holliday, Seward

Girls Bowling: Josh Johnson, Wayne

Boys Cross Country: Michele Kontor, Milford

Boys Track & Field: Ron Mimick, Aquinas Catholic

Boys Swimming and Diving: Ross Mueller, Lincoln Southwest

Unified Sports, Bowling: Dan Nelson, North Bend Central

Boys Tennis: Chase Petersen, Mount Michael Benedictine

Softball: Todd Petersen, Papillion-La Vista

Girls Basketball: Ann Prince, Elkhorn North

Volleyball: Renee Saunders, Omaha Skutt Catholic

Boys Golf: Pat Sullivan, Bishop Neumann

Boys Soccer: Justin Zabawa, Omaha Skutt Catholic


Coach Johnson of Wayne will join 21 other coaches being honored during halftime of the Class A Girls State Basketball Championship final on Friday, March 11, 2022 at the Pinnacle Bank Arena in Lincoln.