Frankie Klausen, Kruse Tabbed Honorable Mention All-Conference

WAYNE – A pair of Wayne High girls basketball players were named to the 2020 Mid State All-Conference Girls Basketball Team over the weekend.

Senior Frankie Klausen and freshman Brooklyn Kruse were listed as Honorable Mention among 28 individuals of Mid State Conference girls basketball teams.

Wayne High went 5-18 this past season after starting the pre-holiday schedule 4-3. The Blue Devils snapped a 14-game losing streak when they defeated Omaha South 59-39 on February 11. Wayne suffered a 51-49 loss in the play-in game of the Mid State Conference Tourney to Boone Central/Newman Grove and ended their season during the C1-7 subdistrict tourney falling to Norfolk Catholic 43-31.

Frankie Klausen, who signed with Midland University, paced the Blue Devils in scoring this season averaging 12.0 points per game and steals per game with 2.6 while tying for second with 2.0 assists per game. She also made a team-high 46 three’s (32.6%) and knocked down a second-best 72% foul shots (38-53).

Kruse was second in scoring at 11.8, while leading the team in rebounding (5.5 rpg) and 32 blocks (1.5 per game). She also was the team-leader in made foul shots going 66-132 (50%) and all 97 FG’s were two-point shots where she paced the team at 53%.

Crofton was crowned Mid State Conference champions in the girls division after defeating Norfolk Catholic 45-30 in the finals. The Warriors ended the regular season on a 12-game winning streak at 23-3. At state, #2 Crofton placed third with a 2-1 record and defeated #1 Oakland-Craig 58-40 in the C2 consolation game.

Hartington Cedar Catholic also qualified for state winning three straight to end the regular season at 10-13. #13 Cedar Catholic upset #4 Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family in the district finals 71-59. The Trojans earned the eight-seed and took out #1 Weeping Water 54-49 before falling to #5 Archbishop Bergan (40-34) and #2 Chambers/Wheeler Central (66-54) in the D1 consolation game to place fourth.

First Team All-Conference honorees were Riley Siefert of Battle Creek; Lauren Hedlund of Boone Central/Newman Grove; Alexis Arens and Lacey Sprakel of Crofton; Sophia Hass and Brenna Rief of GACC; Bryn Wortmann of Hartington Cedar Catholic; Hanna Neesen of Norfolk Catholic; Alyssa Eichelberger of O’Neill and Kenzie Moeller of Pierce.


Other Honorable Mention selections:

Battle Creek: Makenna Taake, Madaline Taake, Paytyn Taake, BriAnna Zohner

Crofton: Kaley Einrem, Alexis Folkers

GACC: Brandi Doernemann

HCC: Abbie Hochstein, Makenna Noecker

Norfolk Catholic: Anna Kassmeier, Abby Miller, Hayden Wolf

O’Neill: Meg Schluns, Lauren Young

Pierce: Zoe Brenden, Morgan Moeller