Four Blue Devils Listed Among 2020 Mid State All-Conference, Sweetland & Eischeid Named First Team

Four Blue Devils Listed Among 2020 Mid State All-Conference, Sweetland & Eischeid Named First Team
Courtesy of Wayne Community Schools.

WAYNE – The Wayne High boys basketball team put together a dominant run throughout the months of January and February which led to landing four individuals with All-Conference recognition.

Seniors Shea Sweetland and Tyrus Eischeid earned First-Team honors while senior Cody Rogers and sophomore Tanner Walling were named Honorable Mention to the 2020 Mid State All-Conference Boys Team which totaled 24 individuals.

Wayne High started the season 0-4 but won five of their next six games which included a third-place finish by defeating the Class D1 state champions of Laurel-Concord-Coleridge in the Wayne Holiday Tournament (first of two wins over LCC).

The Blue Devils then won four straight in the month of January before falling in overtime 55-53 to North Bend Central. WHS followed that with 12 straight wins, where only two were on the home court, but won the Mid State Conference tourney over Pierce 54-41 at Wayne State College in early February. Wayne High avenged an early season loss to Logan View/ Scribner-Snyder 34-24 in the subdistrict finals before advancing to state with a 55-41 win over Mitchell in the district finals. #6 Wayne saw their season come to an end at the hands of #3 Lincoln Christian, 44-38 in the opening round at state. The Crusaders eventually finished fourth falling to #1 Adams Central 59-47 in the consolation round.

All four honorees were the top four scorers and led most of the statistical categories on the team.

Sweetland surpassed 1,000 career points after averaging 15.3 ppg his senior season. He also recorded a team-high 1.7 steals per game and knocked down 78 three-point shots (37%) while finishing second on the team with 60 made free throws (81.1%).

Eischeid paced the team in rebounding with 8.0 boards per contest, 119 two-point field goals made (49.4%) and 101 made free throws (80.8%). He also finished second in scoring with 13.9 ppg, second in assists per game (1.9) and tied for first in total blocks with 12.

Walling averaged 8.5 points per game, third-best on the team and tied for third in assists per game (1.6). He finished second in made three’s with 44 (34.9%) and third-most free throws at 45 (77.6%).

Rogers closed out his senior season fourth in scoring with 6.0 points per game and second in rebounding (4.2 rpg). He also tied for first in total blocks with 12 and was second on the team with 73 made two-point FGs (65.8%)

Other First Team All-Conference members were Miles Thoene and Tate Thoene of Hartington Cedar Catholic; Gavin Larson and Dawson Watts of Pierce; Ryan Kramer of Boone Central/Newman Grove as well as Slate Kraft, Luke Stueve and Payton Frederick of Battle Creek.


Other Honorable Mention honorees:

Battle Creek: Dylan Mettler

Crofton: Andy Knapp and Payton Bartels

GACC: Ben Ulrich and Adam Reeson

HCC: Brady Steffen and Charlie Schroeder

Norfolk Catholic: Ben Hammond and Preston Burbach

O’Neill: Kolby Dean and Landon Classen

Pierce: Dalton Freeman