Eight-Man Playoff Football Brackets Released, LCC and Winside Football Being Carried On KTCH/KCTY

LINCOLN – The round of 32 will begin on Thursday, October 21 for Class D1 and D2 high school football teams in Nebraska.

According to a release from the NSAA, postseason football will begin for eight-man teams in late October.


Area teams punching their tickets include:

Class D1: #4 Lutheran High Northeast; #5 Stanton; #8 Laurel-Concord-Coleridge and #14 Wisner-Pilger.

Class D2: #2 Pender; #3 Bloomfield; #6 Wynot; #10 Winside; #12 Osmond; #13 Homer; #14 Wausa; #15 Creighton and #16 Allen.

Big Red Country ‘KTCH’ 104.9 will be covering the Class D1 first round playoff in Laurel on Thursday, October 21. #8 LCC (6-2) will host #9 Exeter-Milligan/Friend (7-1) at 6:30 p.m. Pregame show coverage is set for 6:10 p.m.

The Bears suffered a loss of 46-14 against Lutheran High Northeast last Friday which snapped their four-game winning streak (three of four on road). EMF closed out their regular season with a 64-14 win against Southern after dropping their only game of the year at Heartland, 58-24.

The City ‘KCTY’ 98.9/1590 will be covering the Class D2 first round playoff in Johnson. Winside (5-3) will be on the road Thursday late afternoon for a 4 p.m. kickoff at #7 Johnson-Brock (6-2). Pregame coverage is set for 3:40 p.m.

The Wildcats were edged by Wynot, 34-32 which snapped a three-game winning streak as Johnson-Brock is on a current three-game winning streak.

Class D1 and D2 Thursday winners in the west/east brackets will then be re-seeded 1-16 for the second round of eight-man football on Friday, October 29.

Classes A, B, C1 and C2 will close out their regular season on October 21 – 22 before their playoffs begin next week.