Dirt Devil 14s Open State Tournament 2-0

HASTINGS – Class C 14U State Softball Tournament action began Friday for the Dirt Devil 14s.

The Dirt Devil 14s continued their winning streak with back-to-back wins in Hastings by defeating Wakefield, 7-1 in the opening round and Dmilaco Red, 10-4 in round two.

The Dirt Devil 14s have now won six straight and are 25-8 on the season.

During the first-round game, the Dirt Devil 14s scored one run in the opening inning while Wakefield added a run in the bottom of the second. The Dirt Devils then used back-to-back three-run innings in the third and fourth to win 7-1.

Delaney Kruse singled, doubled, drove in two runs and scored twice while Jersi Jensen doubled. Caitlyn Mostek singled and drove in a run; Taytem Ellis accounted for a RBI and two runs scored; Kierah Haase scored twice as Rylin Hall scored once.

Sammi Gubbels (70 pitches) secured the complete game win in four innings allowing one run off one hit while striking out five batters and walking two.


Game One:

1 2 3 4 R H E

1 0 3 3  7 4 3 – DD

0 1 0 0  1 1 6 – Wakefield


From the second game of the day, the Dirt Devil 14s led 4-0 after the second inning as Dmilaco Red scored one run in the top of the third. The Dirt Devils added six more runs in the fourth while Dmilaco Red used a three-run fifth inning but the Dirt Devils held on for the 10-4 victory.

Delaney Kruse singled, doubled twice, drove in three runs and scored as Haase doubled, drove in a run and scored. Ellis singled twice, drove in a run and scored twice; Hall singled, drove in two runs and scored; Carli Canham and Jensen both singled and scored as Sammi Gubbels, Mostek and Lily Gubbels all scored.

Hall (74 pitches) secured the complete game win in five innings allowing four runs (two earned) off three hits while striking out two batters and walking four.


Game Two:

1 2 3 4 5  R H E

0 0 1 0 3   4  3 4 – Dmilaco Red

0 4 0 6 0 10  9 2 – DD


The Dirt Devil 14s will open day two state tourney action at 4:45 p.m. on Saturday, July 10 against the Creighton Thunder.