C1 State Title Game Goes To Overtime, Wahoo Outscores Winnebago 11-7

LINCOLN – Championship Saturday opened the day with a Class C1 State Championship game during the 2018 NSAA Boys State Basketball Tournament.

From the Pinnacle Bank Arena, it featured a rematch from last years semifinal game between #1 Wahoo and #2 Winnebago. A year ago, Wahoo won 55-52 while Winnebago defeated the Warriors in 2015 during the opening round, 66-50.

Both teams struggled from the field early before Winnebago took the opening quarter, 15-14. The Indians extended their lead into the locker room at 28-25. In the second half, Winnebago saw their lead grow to 11 at the largest, but Wahoo stayed close as both teams posted a 17-point quarter. The game featured 12 lead changes and 10 ties as Wahoo won the fourth quarter to force overtime where the Warriors won 70-66. #1 Wahoo improves to 27-2 on the season while #2 Winnebago adds a runner-up trophy to their case with a 22-7 record.

Senior Maurice Scott paced Winnebago in scoring with 18 points on 7-15 shooting from the floor and 4-10 from behind the arc. Senior MaNaPe Cleveland followed with 16 points, as senior Lance Denny recorded a double-double with 12 points and 10 rebounds while senior D’Von LaPointe also picked up a double-double with 13 points and 14 assists.

Winnebago shot 24-61 (39.3%) from the floor, 8-27 (29.6%) from the three-point line and 10-18 (55.6%) from the foul line. The Indians recorded 19 assists to 10 turnovers while adding five blocked shots and four steals.

Wahoo was led by junior reserve Winston Cook with 19 points on 8-15 shoot from the field and 3-6 from the foul line. Senior Cameron Quick picked up a double-double with 14 points and 10 rebounds while junior reserve Blake Lacey tabbed 12 points. Senior Will Shanahan also tacked on 10 points.

The Warriors shot 26-62 (41.9%) from the field, 4-18 (22.2%) from behind the arc and 14-19 (73.7%) at the charity stripe. Wahoo recorded 18 assists to 11 turnovers while adding one blocked shot and seven steals.

It marked the fourth straight tourney appearance for Winnebago, coming off two third place finishes (2017/C1 and 2016/C2) before winning their second title in program history in 2015.

For Wahoo, it was back-to-back state final appearance qualifying for their 37th state tournament. The Warriors have now won 11 state titles. 2


Other games still to come on Championship Saturday from the Pinnacle Bank Arena:

Class D1: #7 Lourdes Central Catholic (Nebraska City) won their third straight title over #1 Kenesaw, 32-25

Class B: #1 York defeated #2 Omaha Skutt Catholic, 61-56 in double overtime

**Class C1: #1 Ponca vs. #3 Hastings St. Cecilia at 4:30 p.m. heard on Big Red Country 104.9 and online at waynedailynews.com with pregame coverage set for 4:15 p.m.

Class A: #2 Creighton Prep vs. #5 Bellevue West at 6:30 p.m.

Class D2: #1 Falls City Sacred Heard vs. #2 Riverside at 8:30 p.m.

Consolation schedule from Lincoln East:

Class C2: #5 Bancroft-Rosalie/Lyons-Decatur defeated #2 Yutan, 73-62

Class C1: #5 Lincoln Christian defeated #3 Broken Bow, 68-49

Class D1: #6 Johnson-Brock defeated #4 Heartland, 63-54

Class D2: #3 Mullen vs. #4 Giltner at 3 p.m.