Blue Devil Track & Field Season Begins With WSC High School Invite; Saturday Results

WAYNE – The Wayne High girls and boys began their season on Saturday with five other Nebraska schools during the 2022 Wayne State College High School Invitational.

Again, from WSC Memorial Stadium, the outdoor meet featured Boone Central, Columbus Scotus, Osmond, Summerland and Tekamah-Herman with the Blue Devils.

No team scores were kept for the invitational.

Head Wayne High track and field coach Dale Hochstein said, “Wayne opened the season with some solid performances and learned a ton about the depth of our team. Kids competed well in some nice early season conditions.”

Wayne High leaders in the girls division were first place finishes from Brooklyn Kruse in both the shot put (36’ 7”) and discus (110’ 6”); Kyla Krusemark in the 3200-meter run (13:48); Sierra Mutchler in the 100-meter hurdles (18.47); Frantzdie Barner in the 200-meter dash (29.2) and Jala Krusemark in the 1600-meter run (6:02).

Saturday girls results

Relay team champions came from the 4×400-meter relay (Kiara Krusemark, Brooklyn Kruse, Rubie Klausen and Kyla Krusemark) in a time of 4:35 as well as the 4×800-meter relay (Kiara Krusemark, Jala Krusemark, Kyla Krusemark and Laura Hasemann (10:43).

Runner-up results were posted by Faith Powicki in the 400-meter dash (1:07); Kierah Haase in the 800-meter run (2:45); Laura Hasemann in the 1600-meter run (6:36) (followed by Powicki in third, 7:00) and Virginia Kniesche in the pole vault (7’ 6”).


The top Blue Devil boys result came from Jesus Zavala III in the 3200-meter run (11:12).

Saturday boys results

Wayne also won the 4×800-meter relay (Zavala III, Colson Nelson; Mason Ley and Ethan Wibben) in a time of 9:18.

Runner-up results were posted by Alex Phelps in the 100-meter dash (11.5) (third in 200-meter dash, 24.54); Sedjro Agoumba in the 200-meter dash (23.59) and Eli Barner during the pole vault (11’ 6”).

The Wayne High girls and boys track & field team will next compete in the Columbus Scotus Invite next Tuesday, March 29 starting at 2 p.m.