Blue Devil Football Lands 10 On All-District Team

WAYNE – After falling short of a state championship berth in their first-ever state semifinal, the Wayne High football team is bringing in several postseason accolades starting with six First-Team All-District honorees and four Second-Team All-District individuals.

Teams making up the Class C1-3 District were Pierce, Wayne, West Point-Beemer, Boone Central/Newman Grove and Logan View/Scribner-Snyder.

Senior running back Blake Bartos and junior running back Reid Korth both received First Team Offensive honors while junior defensive lineman Mike Leatherdale, senior defensive lineman Cade Janke, junior linebacker Victor Kniesche and senior linebacker Gunnar Jorgensen all were tabbed on the First Team Defensive All-District Team.

Sophomore lineman Mason Frevert, sophomore lineman Brendan Swanson, senior wideout/defensive back Noah Lutt and senior quarterback/defensive back Tyrus Eischeid were all named to the Second Team All-District Team.

Wayne High won their final four regular season games to enter the Class C1 playoffs with a 7-2 record as the #11 seed. WHS began their state tourney run with a 28-21 win at #6 Kearney Catholic before knocking off previously unbeaten #3 Ashland-Greenwood (28-13) in Wayne. The Blue Devils then saw their season come to an end at #2 Wahoo (49-7) as Wayne High went 9-3. Wahoo then defeated #4 Pierce 38-0 to be crowned Class C1 state champs at 13-0.

Wayne lost to Wahoo to open the year and Pierce halfway through the season.

Class C1 state runner-up, Pierce (12-1), All-District members were senior offensive lineman Kage Heisinger (First); senior offensive lineman Dylan Svoboda (First); senior quarterback Dalton Freeman (First); senior running back Carson Oestreich (First); senior defensive end Carter Rohrich (First); senior linebacker Brett Tinker (First); junior linebacker Garret Meier (First); senior lineman Colby Richart (Second); senior lineman/linebacker Seth Valverde (Second); senior wideout/defensive back Gavin Larson (Second) and junior lineman Shawn Rinkel (Second).