Area Wrestlers Punch Ticket To State, Wayne High Sends Four

OMAHA – High school wrestlers took part in two-day district competition on Friday and Saturday to continue their dreams as a champion.

The top four medalists earned their trip to Omaha.

The 2019 NSAA State Wrestling Championships will take place at the CHI Health Center Arena in Omaha on Thursday, February 14 – Saturday, February 16. All four classes will wrestle in the same location. Join Brady Bristol on KTCH/KCTY for reports from the state tournament.

Wayne High wrestlers took part in the B2 District held at Grand Island Northwest. WHS finished ninth as a team with 72.5 points.

Individual qualifiers:

Reece Jaqua (120) – placed third winning over Kaleb Eliker of York by decision (8-1)

Cameron Muhs (126) – placed third winning over Oscar Lopez of O’Neill by major decision (13-3)

Juan Vergara (138) – won against Miguel Roman of Schuyler in the championship match by decision (9-3)

Reid Korth (160) finished fourth with a loss to Evan Sliva of Columbus Scotus by decision (4-3).


Other area state qualifiers.

Class C area teams:

C1 District from Battle Creek: Hartington Cedar Catholic, Ponca and Wakefield/Allen


HCC: 7th as a team with 78.5 points

Kerby Hochstein (126) finished third by winning over Carter King of Battle Creek by decision (9-5)

Turner Korth (145) placed third with a win over Grant Williams of Doniphan-Trumbull by fall (3:58)

Ethan Koch (152) placed runner-up against Ty Heimes of Battle Creek in the championship match by sudden victory (5-3)

Eric Hoesing (182) placed runner-up against Luke Fairbanks of Bishop Neumann in the championship match by decision (7-6)


Ponca: 13th with 48 points

Dalton Anderson (126) placed runner-up with a loss against Gaven Schernikau of Centennial in the championship match by decision (5-3)

Andrew Daly (195) placed third with a win over Luis Torrez of Doniphan-Trumbull by fall (1:30)


Wakefield/Allen: 14th with 47 points  

Charlie Lopez (132) placed third with a win over Sean Henkel of Yutan by fall (2:32)

Isaac Verzani (152) placed third with a win over Austin Smith of St. Paul by decision (12-7)


C3 from David City Aquinas Catholic: Pierce

 Pierce: 3rd with 145.5 points

Brock Bolling (106) placed runner-up against Konner Schluckebier of Milford in the championship match by decision (15-8)

Carter Jensen (126) placed third over Quenton Ackley of Ravenna by fall (2:30)

Ashton Schweitzer (145) placed fourth falling to Jesse Drahota of Ravenna by decision (5-4)

Brett Tinker (160) placed runner-up against Jacob Ray of North Bend in the championship match by decision (10-6)

Ryder Fuchs (195) crowned champion over Nolan Schultz of Aquinas Catholic by fall (0:47)

Dylan Kuehler (220) placed fourth falling to Tad Naiberk of Aquinas Catholic by decision (6-1)


Class D area teams:

D1 from Neligh-Oakdale: Wisner-Pilger: 14th with 41 points

Gavin Lampman (126) placed third defeating Chase Pawloski of Pleasanton by decision (6-2)

Landon Beaver (220) placed runner-up against Donaven Nolze of Clearwater-Orchard by major decision (8-0)


D2 from Amherst: Laurel-Concord-Coleridge, Pender and Winside

LCC: 12th with 28 points

Ethan Williams (220) placed runner-up against Jaxon Taubenheim of Amherst by decision (6-2)


Pender: T-14th with 25 points

Kaiden Mrsny (113) placed third against Jacob Fox of Axtell by decision (7-0)


Winside: 4th with 110 points

Jacoby Mann (106) placed fourth against Tristan White of Arapahoe by fall (3:34)

Cayden Ellis (113) placed runner-up against Scout Ashburn of Plainview in the championship match by decision (7-1)

Koby Ellis (120) placed runner-up against Isaiah Shields of Amherst in the championship match by decision (5-3)

Gabe Escalante (126) placed fourth against Zak Palmer of North Central by decision (11-4)

Art Escalante (138) placed runner-up against Levi Lewis of North Central in the championship match by fall (5:24)

Michael Jensen (195) placed runner-up against Collin Gale of Plainview by fall (1:07)


D3 from Midland University in Fremont: Randolph

Randolph: 10th with 65.5 points

Alex Schmit (145) placed runner-up against Jacob Johnson of Archbishop Bergan in championship match by decision (8-2)

Brandon Bloomquist (152) crowned champion against Jarod Hergott of Thayer Central in the championship match by decision (5-2)

Noah Scott (170) crowned champion against Carl Mundt of Nebraska Christian in the championship match by decision (7-4)