Watkins Earns NSIC Offensive Player Of The Week, Wayne State Receiving NCAA DII Votes

Watkins Earns NSIC Offensive Player Of The Week, Wayne State Receiving NCAA DII Votes

WAYNE – For the second time in the past four weeks, senior running back Anthony Watkins from Wayne State College recorded over 100 yards rushing which led to league recognition.

According to a release from Wayne State Athletics, Watkins was named Monday morning as the Offensive Player of the Week following his performance in Saturday’s 56-14 Hall of Fame Game victory over Upper Iowa.

Watkins, a 5-10, 180-pound senior from Harvey, Illinois (Dodge City CC), scored four touchdowns and accounted for 156 yards of total offense in Saturday’s win. He rushed for 123 yards on just 10 carries and scored three times on the ground with scoring runs of 14, four and two yards. Watkins also had two receptions for another 33 yards that included a 31-yard scoring play.

For the season, Watkins leads Wayne State in rushing with 673 yards on 117 carries (5.8 avg) and nine TD’s, averaging 74.8 yards per game to rank fifth in the NSIC. He is also tied for fifth in the league this season with 10 total touchdowns.

NSIC Defensive Player of the Week was graduate defensive lineman Ian Marshall from Northern State while the NSIC Special Teams Player of the Week was awarded to sophomore kicker/punter Damian Chowaniec from Minnesota State-Mankato.

Wayne State College, 7-2 overall and third place in the NSIC South Division at 3-2, visits #25 Sioux Falls (7-2, 2-2 South) on Saturday at 1 p.m. Pregame coverage on Big Red Country ‘KTCH’ 104.9 and waynedailynews.com is set for 12:30 p.m.

The Wildcats are also receiving votes just on the outside of the AFCA Division II Top 25 Coaches’ Poll with nine points.

Other NSIC teams being recognized are #24 Minnesota State-Mankato (7-2, 68 pts and previously NR); #25 Sioux Falls (7-2, 46 pts and fell six spots); Winona State (7-2, 26 pts) and Bemidji State (7-2, eight points).


Dropped Out: Texas A&M-Kingsville (20), Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.) (22), Saginaw Valley St. (Mich.) (23), New Haven (Conn.) (25)

Others Receiving Votes: Texas A&M-Kingsville, 42; Albany St. (Ga.), 31; Henderson St. (Ark.), 26; Winona St. (Minn.), 26; Saginaw Valley St. (Mich.), 13; Assumption (Mass.), 12; Kutztown (Pa.), 12; Notre Dame (Ohio), 9; Wayne St. (Neb.), 9; Bemidji St. (Minn.), 8; Tusculum (Tenn.), 4; Colorado St.-Pueblo, 3; Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.), 3; New Haven (Conn.), 3.