Norling Tabbed With D2CCA Second Team All-Central Region Honors

Norling Tabbed With D2CCA Second Team All-Central Region Honors
Courtesy of Wayne State Athletics.

WAYNE – A couple days after Erin Norling was named to the 2019-20 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-America Women’s Basketball Team for a program’s first, more postseason accolades were announced Thursday.

According to a release from the Wayne State Athletics office, Norling was named to the D2CCA All-Central Region Women’s Basketball Team. She earned Second Team honors which were being sponsored by the Conference Commissioners Association and voted on by Sports Information Directors in the Central Region.

Norling, a 5’11 junior forward from Loretto, Minnesota (Delano HS), was a repeat First Team All-NSIC selection for the Wildcats this season after leading the team in scoring and rebounding. She averaged 19.9 points and 8.0 rebounds per game, ranking second in the league in scoring and tied for fourth in rebounding. Norling also tied for eighth in the league in blocked shots per game (1.0) and tied for fourth in minutes played (33.6).

Norling scored 20 or more pints in 15 games this season and her 576 points ranked sixth most in a single season by a Wildcat player. She was named NSIC South Division Player of the Week on November 25th after scoring a career-best 32 points at South Dakota School of Mines (11/21/19) followed by a 28-point performance two nights later at Black Hills State.

Norling scored double figures in every game this season and has reached double digits in 47 straight and 56 of her last 57 games dating back to last season.  She currently ranks 12th in all-time scoring at Wayne State with 1,336 points entering her senior season next year.

The Wayne State College women’s basketball team finished the 2019-20 season with a record of 16-13 overall, placing seventh in the NSIC South Division at 11-11 in league play.

D2CCA All-Central Region Women’s Basketball Team
First Team
*Brooke Olson, Minnesota – Duluth
Kaely Hummel, Sioux Falls
Megan Skaggs, Central Missouri
Berniezha Tidwell, Arkansas-Monticello
Katie Webb, Southeastern Oklahoma State
* Player of the Year

Second Team
Tyra Aska, Southwestern Oklahoma State
Cassie Askvig, Mary
Morgan Fleming, Central Missouri
Tre’Zure Jobe, Emporia State
Erin Norling, Wayne State College