WSC Undergraduate Communication Research Conference To Focus On Future Role Of Communication’s Foundation

WSC Undergraduate Communication Research Conference To Focus On Future Role Of Communication’s Foundation
Courtesy of Wayne State College.

WAYNE – A conference pertaining to an undergraduate communication research event will be held this weekend being free and open to the public.

According to a release from Wayne State College, the Flat Water States will take place on Saturday, March 26 from 8:30 a.m. until 4 p.m. in Gardner Hall on the campus of WSC.

The undergraduate communication research conference is being sponsored by Lambda Pi Eta, the National Communication Association’s honor society.

‘Focus on the Future: New beginnings, Strong foundations’ is the theme for the conference. WSC Alum Erin Slattery will deliver the keynote address at 9 a.m. in the Gardner Hall auditorium. Slattery majored in communication studies at WSC and is a PhD student at the University of Iowa. She’ll share her research on health communication and graduate school experiences.

Presentations and student panels will then follow the keynote address at 10:30 a.m. and 1 p.m. A faculty panel will also end the day at 2:30 p.m.

Students from WSC and Nebraska Wesleyan University submitted research projects for review. Topics cover interpersonal communication, social media, mass communication, organizational communication, intercultural communication, political communication, communication ethics, environmental communication, family communication, rhetorical criticism, media criticism, theatre arts and the scholarship of teaching and learning.

The conference offers students opportunities to secure professional feedback and interaction with leading communication scholars. Faculty panel members include Dr. Allyn Lueders, WSC Associate Professor of Communication Arts; Dr. Liz Viall, WSC Assistant Professor of Communication Arts and Dr. Sean Ahern, WSC Assistant Professor of Communication Arts.

WSC students presenting research projects at the conference include Audrey Worthing of Ogallala; Jessie Brandl of Stanton; Clare Hornung of Raymond; Allie Jaixen of Platte Center; Lesley Luna-Duran, of Neligh; Geo Ascencio of South Sioux City; Whitney Winter of Sutton; Agnes Kurtzhals of Coleridge; Jackson Kelley of Lincoln; Jaci Torres of Wayne and Mark Albers of Waukee, Iowa.

For more information, contact Dr. Allyn Lueders at 402-375-7025 or