Wisner-Native Earns Second Place In Age 17-49 Category During State Handwriting Contest

WISNER – Winning entries for the 28th Nebraska State Handwriting Contest were selected earlier this month.

On May 9, the annual activity was administered by the University of Nebraska at Kearney and endorsed by the Nebraska State Education Association and Nebraska State Department of Education.

According to a release from Nebraska-Kearney, each entry was evaluated for ease of reading, fluent rhythmic movement with technically correct performance of specifications such as the slope, space, size and shape of letters. The general layout of the entry was taken into account along with neatness of presentation.

For more information, contact Julie Agard with the Department of Teacher Education at 308-865-8556.

The list of winners in each age category:

Age 12 and Under

1st – Hannah Singrey, Kearney

2nd – Hannah Thomson, Palmyra

Honorable Mention – Elizabeth Walbrecht, Lincoln

Age 13-16

1st – Anvitha Boosani, Omaha

2nd – Kathryn Folkers, Sargent

Age 17-49

1st – Amy Denny, Kearney

2nd – Sheila Sindelar, Wisner

Honorable Mention – Michelle L. Bruns, Rushville

Age 50 and Over

1st – Susan Stoeger, Grand Island

2nd – Delores Mullin, Springview

Honorable Mention – Jean Nabity, Lincoln

Honorable Mention – Joan Mowry, Arapahoe

Honorable Mention – Marcia Buck, Alliance