Wayne State College Arboretum Recognized With Affiliate Excellence Award

Wayne State College Arboretum Recognized With Affiliate Excellence Award
Courtesy of Wayne State College. (l to r): Terry Rahn; Pat Craig, Nebraska Statewide Arboretum Director; Christina Hoyt; Randy Belt; Angie Fredrickson; Dan Wibben; Kyle Nelsen; Dwight Anderson and Dennis Carroll.

WAYNE – A handful of Nebraska communities have received an award from the Nebraska Statewide Arboretum.

According to a release from Wayne State College, the WSC Arboretum recently received the Affiliate Excellence Award from the Nebraska Statewide Arboretum in Lincoln on December 6. This award recognizes “excellence in collection development, maintenance practice and community engagement.”

Wayne State College has long been known for its beautiful campus, including the famed Willow Bowl which has been a fixture of the campus since 1938. The campus also features a prairie-inspired landscape and as officials with the Nebraska Statewide Arboretum said, “it’s one of the most diverse tree collections in the region.”

Besides the Willow Bowl, an amphitheater space where graduation ceremonies and other outdoor events are held, it has more than 200 varieties of trees, uses prairie plants to minimize mowing and provide for pollinators while having an outdoor classroom and nature trail with prairie and forest plantings links the campus to the community and to an adjacent golf course.

Wayne State College was one of the first 10 sites to affiliate with NSA at its inception in 1977.

The award was presented to assistant director of campus maintenance, Dan Wibben; vice president of administration and finance, Angela Fredrickson; director of facility services, Kyle Nelsen and others from the college.

More information about the Nebraska Statewide Arboretum and other projects can be found at plantnebraska.org.


Full list of Arboretum award winners are below.

President’s Citation – Bluebird Nursery, Inc. of Clarkson
Blazing Star Award – The Nature Conservancy of Nebraska
Johnny Appleseed Award – Mark Wilson, Lincoln
Jim Kluck Honor Award – Jeff Kennedy, Gothenburg
Affiliate Excellence Award – Wayne State College, Wayne
Educator Award – Steve Rodie, Omaha
Volunteer Award – Jim and Jan Wilhelm, Humboldt
Community Landscape Award –  Southeast Nebraska Cancer Memorial Garden, Humboldt and Vintage Heights Neighborhood Arboretum, Lincoln