Wayne Power Drive Brings Home More Hardware, Including Two State Champion Cars

Wayne Power Drive Brings Home More Hardware, Including Two State Champion Cars
Courtesy photo (l to r): Coach Mr. Cantrell, Assistant Garret Reynolds, Landen Roeber, Matthew Kufner-Rodriguez, Brett Johnson, Braden Adams, Nina Hammer, Maria Maturey and Assistant Brady Henderson.

WAYNE – A series of Power Drive events over the past month concluded with the EVERON Championships in Wayne this past Saturday.

From the First National Bank of Omaha Call Center parking lot, the 0.23 mile track was taken over by students from Nebraska and Iowa battling mother nature along with each other throughout the day.

Advanced Class Car A22, driven by Brett Johnson competed in five events earning points toward the overall award. Car A22 earned first place in Maneuverability, Braking, Design and Construction, Documentation (created by Brett Johnson and Nina Hammer) and Endurance to be crowned the overall state champion. Car A22 also won the Best Paint category.

A22 was the only car to finish the 90 minute rally as all others had mechanical problems or ran low on power.

Exhibition Class Car E39, driven by Matthew Kufner-Rodriguez was only able to compete in the endurance event as an exhibition car. Car E39 was crowned state champion in the Endurance category.

Wayne’s Car A22 and E39 were the only two cars racing in the last 11 minutes of the rally.

The Wayne Power Drive team walked away with nine awards, being all first places on Saturday. Two State Championships were added to the total marking the 10th and 11th State Championships in Blue Devil Power Drive history.

Wayne Power Drive earned 16 awards on the season while also being named Best Pit Crew at the West Point Rally.

Car A22 finished with a perfect season winning every competition it entered while completing 113.67 miles, leading the Advance Class total mileage by 45.23 miles.

Car E39 recorded the highest season mileage of 133.16 miles completed with an 8.43 mile lead.