LINCOLN – A new Nebraska law will affect how you buckle your child into the vehicle come 2019.
Starting January 1, Nebraska’s child passenger safety law will help keep children safer as they travel.
According to a release form the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), the new law features:
- Children must ride rear-facing up to age 2 or until they reach the upper weight or height limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer.
- Children up to age 8 must ride in a correctly installed car seat or booster seat.
- Children up to age 8 must ride in the back seat, as long as there is a back seat equipped with a seat belt and is not already occupied by other children under 8 years old.
- Children 8 to 18 years old must ride secured in a seat belt or child safety seat/booster.
To make sure you’re using a car seat or booster correctly, have it checked by a certified child passenger safety technician. There are over 400 across the state who help their communities by checking seats at fitting stations and check events.
As of May 31, 2018, for those who live in the counties of Madison, Pierce, Stanton and Wayne go to Faith Regional Health Service, Inc. in Norfolk. FRHS hosts operations on the first Tuesday from 5:30 – 7 p.m.; third Tuesday from 3:30 – 6:30 p.m. and by appointment (402-644-7520)
Families who live in Burt, Colfax, Cuming, Dodge and Thursday can visit the Saint Francis Memorial Hospital Program in West Point. Days of operation include the first and third Tuesday of the month from 2-6 p.m. Their number is 402-372-4064.
To find a technician or event in your area, visit http://www.safekidsnebraska.org/carseats.
Search #GetSeatiated on Facebook or Twitter or visit https://drivesmartne.org/get-seatiated/ for more details about safe transportation of children and the new car seat law. Also, follow DHHS on Facebook and Twitter to learn more about the health of Nebraskans.