Type 3 Incident Management Team Being Put Together, Emergency Management Regions To Work Together

WAYNE – Majority of Tuesday mornings regularly scheduled Wayne County Board of Commissioners meeting was on the topic of northeast Nebraska counties working together and creating an incident management team.

From the Wayne County Courthouse courtroom, Emergency Manager Nic Kemnitz reported to the commissioners about several projects needed to be completed by the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

In order for the state to achieve these goals, each region will need to work together and start setting goals and planning.

The Northeast Nebraska Planning Exercising Training Region is made up of 12 counties being Antelope, Burt, Cedar, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Knox, Madison, Pierce, Stanton, Thurston and Wayne. This region makes up nearly 7,000 square miles, 89 communities and a population over 132,000 (mixed 2010/2020 census), according to Kemnitz.

One of the early phases that must be set is gathering at least two to three individuals in each category of the Type 3 Incident Management Team. These certified positions include Incident Commander, Public Information Officer, Safety Officer, Liaison Officer, Operations Section Chief, Logistics Section Chief, Finance/Administration Section Chief, Communications Unit Leader, Situation Unit Leader, Resource Unit Leader and a Planning Section Chief which Kemnitz is already.

Those interested and live in the counties within the region can contact Kemnitz for more information on each position.

Some of the reporting requirements do involve early 2022 dates as Kemnitz states Northeast Nebraska PET will plan on tackling these objectives as a region.

Earlier in the morning, the Wayne County Board of Equalization held a public hearing to review the property tax exemption for a piece of property that was sold prior to the levy date. After measuring the property and putting the numbers in the system, County Assessor Dawn Duffy provided an amount that was well under what was paid.

The board voted to deny the exemption and approved the valuation of $63,500 for the property sold by the First Baptist Church of Wayne earlier this month.

Wayne County Board of Commissioners also voted the chairman (Terry Sievers) and vice-chairman (Dean Burbach) to be the designated individuals to cast ballots for the election of officers at the 2021 National Association of Counties (NACO) Convention in December.

The next regularly scheduled Wayne County Board of Commissioners meeting will be on Tuesday, November 2 at 9 a.m.