Two-Year Agriculture Program Begins In September, 29 Individuals Selected

LINCOLN – The Nebraska Leadership Education/Action Development, LEAD Program has announced their Group 38, 2018 – 2020 Fellows.

Director of LEAD, Terry Hejny released the information Monday afternoon and the two-year program will begin in September.

According to a release, the newest members of Nebraska’s premier two-year agriculture leadership development program are involved in production Ag and/or agribusiness in Nebraska.

LEAD Fellows will partake in 12 monthly three-day seminars throughout Nebraska, a 10-day national study/travel seminar and a 14-16 day international study/travel seminar. The goal of the program is to develop problem solvers, decision makers and spokespersons for agriculture and Nebraska.

Themes among the seminars include leadership assessment and potential, natural resources and energy, leadership through communication, agricultural policy, international trade and finance, Nebraska’s political process, global perspectives, nuclear energy, social and cultural issues, understanding and developing leadership skills, agribusiness and marketing, information technology, advances in health care, the resources and people of Nebraska’s Panhandle and other areas designed to develop leaders through exposure to a broad array of current topics and issues and how they interrelate.

The Nebraska LEAD Program is operated by the non-profit Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council in cooperation with the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and 12 other institutions of higher education throughout Nebraska.

Group 38 will begin their LEAD journey on Sunday, September 16 at the East Campus Union in Lincoln as the kick off seminar, “Leadership Assessment and Potential” begins.

For questions, contact Nebraska LEAD Director Terry Hejny at 402-472-6810 or email

29 individuals will represent 24 communities.

Nebraska LEAD 38 Fellows by city/town are:

BERTRAND: Rebecca Schwarz

BROKEN BOW: Jack Lindstrom, Troy Mack

BRUNING: Heather Ramsey

CAIRO: Michael Dibbern

CENTRAL CITY: Logan Williams

CHADRON: Kyle McCarthy

CHAPMAN: Shane Greving

DAVENPORT: Katie Kaliff-Jagels

DECATUR: Jennifer Penny

ELKHORN: Evan Weborg

ELM CREEK: Sarah Sivits


HASTINGS: Dennis Hoppe

HOLDREGE: Anthony Marquardt

INDIANOLA: Veronica Waddell

KIMBALL: Lindsay Forepaugh

LINCOLN: Noah Blomendahl, Cale Buhr, Doran Johnson, Boone McAfee

LYONS: Jordan Rasmussen

MAYWOOD: Aaron Weismann

OGALLALA: Tony Schrotberger

OMAHA: Ryan Sandoz, Scott Schmalken

PALMER: Rene Blauhorn

RAVENNA: Judy Trent

WAVERLY: Paula Peterson