Several Nebraska Counties To Be Provided FEMA Assistance

WAYNE – Federal disaster assistance is being made available to the state of Nebraska for supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms and straight-line winds.

According to a release from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), this event took place on May 12, 2022.

Federal funding also is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and straight-line winds in Antelope, Boone, Burt, Cedar, Cuming, Custer, Dixon, Garfield, Greeley, Holt, Knox, Logan, Pierce, Polk, Sherman, Thurston, Valley, Wayne, Wheeler, and York counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Andrew P. Meyer has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.