Scholarship Winners Of 2020 NeCGA FLAGship Program Announced

WAYNE – Earlier this week, the Nebraska Corn Growers Association announced the recipients of the 2020 Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program.

According to a release from NeCGA Grower Services Committee, five applications were selected to each receive a $2,000 FLAGship scholarship.

Kara Kudera from Clarkson attended Wayne State College this past fall and is studying Pre-Nursing while Scribner-native Payton Schiller will graduate West Point-Beemer High School this spring and attend UNL pursuing a degree in Animal Science & Plant Science. Others were Mitchell Manning of Fairmont (Agriculture Economic, UNL); Ryan Brown, Gothenburg (Agronomy & Precision Agriculture, Southeast Community College) and Josie Vyhnalek, Friend (Elementary Education & Special Education, UNL).

To be eligible for this scholarship, students must be a member of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association or the son/daughter of an NeCGA member. They must also be a senior in high school or college freshman who is continuing their education in Nebraska. These two-year scholarships were opened for students not pursuing a degree in agriculture with the NeCGA committee wanting advocates in every field.

The mission of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association is to work towards creating and increasing opportunities for Nebraska corn farmers through advocacy, education, partnerships and leadership development.

The committee would like to congratulate each student who was chosen for the scholarship and are excited to see how these young people advocate for agriculture in the future.

Further information about the Nebraska Corn Growers Association and the Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program can be found by visiting or calling 402-438-6459.