Participants In Nebraska LEAD Group 39 Featured

LINCOLN – The next Nebraska LEAD class has been announced for the two-year program.

According to a release in late August from the Nebraska Leadership Education/Action Development Program, Group 39 participants will begin in September. Terry Hejny is the program director for the Nebraska LEAD Program.

The newest members of Nebraska’s premier two-year agricultural leadership development program are involved in production agriculture and/or agribusiness in Nebraska.

LEAD Fellows will participate in 12 monthly three-day seminars across Nebraska, a 10-day national study/travel seminar and a 14 to 16-day international study/travel seminar. The goal of the program is to develop problem solvers, decision makers and spokespersons for Nebraska agriculture and beyond.

Seminar themes include: leadership assessment and potential, natural resources and energy, leadership through communication, agricultural policy, international trade and finance, Nebraska’s political process, global perspectives, nuclear energy, social and cultural issues, understanding and developing leadership skills, agribusiness and marketing, information technology, advances in health care, the resources and people of Nebraska’s Panhandle and other areas designed to develop leaders through exposure to a broad array of current topics and issues and how they interrelate.

The Nebraska LEAD Program is sponsored by the non-profit Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council in cooperation with the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and 12 other institutions of higher education throughout Nebraska.

Nebraska LEAD 39 Fellows make up Nebraska towns of Albion, Arthur, Bellevue, Blue Hill, Clarkson, Clatonia, Colon, Columbus, Cozad, Elgin, Grand Island, Holdrege, Hordville, Kearney, Lincoln, Mullen, Neligh, Omaha, Stromsburg, Sutherland, Sutton and Utica.


Nebraska LEAD 39 Fellows by city/town are:

ALBION: John Krohn

ARTHUR: Jason Christensen

BELLEVUE: John Bronner, Derek Brown

BLUE HILL: Alex Buschow

CLARKSON: Mike Podany

CLATONIA: Monte Murkle

COLON: Jeff Meduna

COLUMBUS: Justin Lorenz

COZAD: Zack Jenner

ELGIN: Tiffany Hemenway


HOLDREGE: Molly Trausch

HORDVILLE: Rebekah Nortrup

KEARNEY: Elyse Schlake

LINCOLN: Travis Harrison, Laurel Mastro, Blythe McAfee, Brett Muhlbach, Tony Sibert

MULLEN: Kory Phillips

NELIGH: Koryn Koinzan

OMAHA:, Craig Davidson, Benjamin Grabenstein, Ashley Peters


SUTHERLAND: Thomas Kelly, Zachary Paulman

SUTTON: Jesse Mohnike

UTICA: Mindy Wolf