New Federal Law About Reporting Vehicle Mileage Being Honored In Nebraska

LINCOLN – When selling a car, odometer mileage reporting is required. This applies only to vehicles with a model year of 10 years or newer. A new federal regulation will eventually change this to vehicles that are 20 years old or newer.

This change was made by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. This will be enforced in Nebraska with the passage of LB 944. Some states may not be recognizing this new law yet.

The following are some of the vehicles that are exempt from reporting mileage readings upon sale. Non-motorized vehicles, mopeds, vehicles with a registered weight above 16,000 pounds, and low-speed vehicles are all exempt.

For more information on this new law, visit www.dmv.nebraska.gov.

Share:
Comments