State Historical Society Foundation Launches National Plan Your Vacation Day, Trio Of Northeast Nebraska Stops Invited To Participate

LINCOLN – Earlier this week, the Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation (NSHSF) launched their statewide travel adventure program with a potential of three northeast Nebraska stops.

According to a release from the Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation, the “National Plan Your Vacation Day” program will encourage travelers to visit Nebraska museums, libraries, parks and other historical points of interest in order to win participation prizes along the way.

Northeast Nebraska stops being invited include Dakota County Historical Society (Dakota City); Lied Lincoln Township Library (Wausa) and the Wayne County Historical Association (Wayne).

Playing on the word wanderlust, the program has been named “Wanderlist” to help evoke the feelings of exploration and excitement while encouraging participants to cross off a list of fascinating Nebraska destinations.

To provide additional support to historical organizations in Nebraska, the program will emphasize a commitment to awareness and the economic growth of Nebraska communities and highlight Statewide Grants Program winners by giving them an additional opportunity for media exposure and increased tourism.

The Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation is now in their 80th year and will look to continue to protect and pass on the history of Nebraska for future generations.

In 2021, the NSHSF launched the Statewide Grants Program. The foundation awarded almost $17,000 to 20 historical societies, museums and local libraries in 18 counties. Statewide Grant Program winners have been invited to participate in the WanderList program in 2022.

They include Bess Streeter Aldrich Foundation (Elmwood), Buffalo County Historical Society (Kearney), Custer County Historical Society (Broken Bow), Dakota County Historical Society (Dakota City), El Museo Latino (Omaha), Fairmont Public Library (Fairmont), Gothenburg Historical Museum (Gothenburg), Haigler Community Foundation (Haigler), Hemingford Public Library (Hemingford), Indianola Public Library (Indianola), Lied Lincoln Township Library (Wausa), Lincoln County Historical Society (North Platte), Long Pine Heritage Society (Long Pine), Merrick County Historical Society (Central City), Robert Henri Museum (Cozad), Sarpy County Museum (Bellevue), Saunders County Historical Society (Wahoo), Seven Valleys Historical Society (Callaway), Thomas County Historical Society (Thedford) and the Wayne County Historical Association (Wayne).

The Wanderlist booklet will be available in April, 2022 and will be downloadable and offered to the public through social media and the NSHSF website. Interested parties are encouraged to pre-order their booklet on the NSHSF website,

For more information, contact Leslie Fattig, Executive Director at or 402-435-3535.